We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is arguably the best hotel in Nairobi.
Security is high. All cars enter through boom gates and are inspected by guards with mirrors who check underneath the vehicles and in the trunk.The hotel is happy to provide a car and driver to take you downtown shopping, as parts of Nairobi are not safe for visitors.
The rooms are large, comfortable and air conditioned. There were no coffee making facilities in the room, but there is a bar fridge. Bottled water is complementary and there are the usual soaps, gels and lotions in the bathroom. There is also a hair dryer and an adjustable shaving mirror. Shower is over the bath.
The public areas are spacious, with a large bar, a guest lounge with foreign newspapers available, and tea and coffee on offer, and there is a well maintained outdoor swimming pool with bar area. Also a well equipped gym is available at no charge. The large dining area opens out onto the pool and the buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner are high class. Many dishes such as omelettes and grilled meats are cooked while you wait.
Staff are keen to assist and all speak good english. Service is quick and efficient.
Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Reception will give you a password when checking in. The cashiers' desk will exchange foreign currency at reasonable rates and accepts major credit cards.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    195
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
61
154
42
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

An excellent hotel which seemed to be in use by a wide range of people from government dignitaries, business people and tourists waiting to go on safari.

We stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting family in the city and whilst we didn't use all the facilities on offer those we did use were fantastic. The breakfast buffet was one of the most extensive I have seen in a long time and the number and friendly manner of staff was refreshing.

The only downside was that our room was next to the air conditioning units so was a little noisy, but given the central location it was surprising this was the only noise we could hear.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We were only here for one night before our Kuoni safari commenced but I couldn't fault this hotel. The service was excellent, we didn't eat lunch or dinner here but the breakfast was good, and most of all the room was amazing. As we were on our honeymoon we were upgraded to a huge room with a lounge and study area and huge huge bathroom plus they gave as a bottle of champagne and some nibbles - it made as feel really special and we kicked off our honeymoon in style! The pool looked nice, good size (didn't go in it) and big space around it with lots of sun loungers etc. So although we were only there one night, we left very happy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
652 reviews 652 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
1,308 helpful votes 1,308 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

And in fact, it's Nairobi where the quality / price ration is definitely not convenient. Swimming pool is great and the SPA is good. Food not very much so. The rooms are a tad outdated. Lat time I went there internet wasn't working but I was told they would switch to a new system and don't know if they did. And the service is, as nearly everywhere in Kenya, very good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vadodara
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were a group of 10 family members ages 70 to 7.everyone was very comfortable & enjoyed the stay.Rooms very good & comfortable.Breakfast was a treat. The decor was very good using the local crafts. very good shop in Hotel.made our visit to Nairobi trully memorable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I had my party at serena had over 100 guests the food was excellent and service ! the preparations were made so easy by the party planner (Alice).
Only negative was we were supposed to stay the entire night but the evening supervisor for our party gave us an earlier time to end the party : ( - that wasnt good for business .
But it was a wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

After 30 hours of flying, I was happy to be at the Serena. It was a great stay with good service. The room was spacious. The staff was helpful and friendly. The wireless connection was great and the food was good. I had a number of business meeting here and it was a great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.