We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, full-service hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely, full-service hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my 2-night stay here and heartily recommend it for a short or extended visit. While our room was not furnished to a 5-star level (more like 3-star), everything else about the establishment was upscale and service-oriented. As with other hotels of this caliber, the staff was wonderful. Hall "guards" (or greeters) are posted around the hotel to help you find your way and, I assume, to keep an eye on things. Front desk and bell are helpful, engaging, and polite.

Apart from its lovely grounds, it offers many services to make a foreign traveler feel at home, including a sundries store and gift shop, business center, spa and beauty salon, gym, baby-sitting, and an on-call physician. We unfortunately needed the services of the physician due to a bad reaction to Malarone, but quickly felt like we were in good hands when their on-call doctor arrived. It took him about an hour to arrive, but he actually made quick time considering the horrendous traffic and gridlock Nairobi experiences at rush hour. After a house call to our hotel room, we were good to go and very relieved that we could get a different malaria prophylaxis. I applaud the Nairobi Serena for having an on-call physician. We could have otherwise wasted and entire day of our precious time waiting in line at a clinic.

While our room was not the most luxuriously furnished, the marble bathroom was lovely. As many reviewers have noted, the hotel common areas are beautiful and comfortable. It's easy to find a place in the public areas to relax and enjoy a book without feeling as if you're on display.

The Mandhari restaurant serves very good food and is considered to be one of Kenya's best. We enjoyed a French-inspired dinner there and, although the pianist was terrible, the food was elegantly presented and quite good.

It's located about 20 minutes from the airport, or about 1 hour and 20 minutes in bad traffic, and seems quite centrally located.

Overall a beautiful hotel with great services and amenities. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    175
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
144
39
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mansfield UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We spent two nights here in July at the beginning and end of a safari holiday. It was very relaxing amid the very pleasant grounds in the middle of the city.It was amazing that we saw so many different types of clourful birds in the gardens. The rooms were very comfartable and the service was excellent. We tried the buffet menu and the a la carte and were not disappointed with the quality. If you want a good quality hotel in Nairobi we would suggest you give it a try

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We used this hotel as the base from which to make various safaris and excursions around Kenya. It was always a very welcoming place to return to. The building is set slightly away from the main business district and is relatively low rise and peaceful. The luxuriant gardens that surround the building are extended inside to create a wonderful African ambience, complete with craft and art work. Even our basic bedroom was clean and well equipped. The food is varied and interesting and beautifully served; the restaurant looks out over the swimming pool and it is also possible to eat lunch at the poolside. Staff are very attentive and knowledgeable and coped with our complicated and sometimes changing itinerary pretty effectively..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Very good hotel overall. Unfortunaletly they are working on "overbooking", which is a mess if you need to extend your period of stay. It might be a better hotel for vacations than for business.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

The staff are very accomodating and pleasant (except for one unpleasant incident in the bar - but this was one person and he was a jarring excetion). The buffet breakfast is great. The also have a great buffet dinner, but we found it was just too much food to have both - and you can explore several very nice restaurants around the city - take a taxi and be back at the hotel early. The spa/gym is excellent (we did not use it this time as we had too much else on our agenda, but we can vouch for it from previous visits). The outdoor pool is rather chilly unless you go in the hottest months of the year. The Serena may be rather overpriced for a family vacation, and you need to either rent a car to take a taxi to just about anywhere as the beautiful park that is next to the hotel and used to be a pleasant shortcut into the city is no longer safe. The safety issue is not unique to the Serena. Be careful wherever you stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at the Nairobi Serena Hotel for 3 nights in June 2010. I would recommend this hotel for business travellers who wish to stay close to central Nairobi. Depending on traffic, the hotel is about a 20 minute drive from the airport (given Nairobi's hectic and often unpredictable traffic, this could increase to over an hour).

Positives - Room comfort; breakfast; view of central Nairobi; professional and courteous staff.

Negatives - Location (central location may not be ideal for families or those who are not keen on stepping out of their hotel compound into Nairobi's hustle and bustle); Price - room rates are pretty much at Western Europe / North American rates, which is hard to justify given the relative cost of living; Decor - could do with a refresh of sorts - the lifts in particular are quite dull; Air-conditioning in rooms - given that I suffer allergies, I had a stuffy nose for the 3 nights we spent there. It doesn't help that the windows cannot be opened; The Wi-fi could do with speeding up.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooliehampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I've been visiting E Africa for years - and often staying at the Serena chain in Nairobi, Kampala, Kigali and Islamabad (ok, not East Africa). The Nairobi Serena has been left far behind in comparison to the rest of the group and complacently trades on its reputation. The hotel is dowdy and tired, the rooms tiny and the bathrooms miniscule. The bed and pillow was the most uncomfortable I have encountered recently and I was grateful to get out.

The hotel is well over-priced and far, far better accommodation is available in Nairobi at similar or even less than the Nairobi Serena charges.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.