We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Offer (Fri - Sun)
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

If you have chosen to stay at the Serena in Nairobi, you have made a good choice. If you have not, you may want to re-think your reservation. The Serena is an oasis in Nairobi. Comfortable, secure, friendly without hovering, and efficient. The in-room services from the Spa are a bonus! I had the jet lag massage; I recommended it if you are exhausted from traveling. My next trip, I am going to have the foot massage at poolside. The beds are extra firm, so keep that in mind if you like a soft bed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskimosrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
new delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We spent one night here, and it was...alright. Small room, small bathroom, heavily carpeted, felt like a throw back to the 1970's. Pleasant enough staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivek29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

I found myself at home while staying at Serena. The hotel is very clean, rooms are spacious and well appointed, and provided with free wi-fi internet. Mine was in the front yard, only second floor, but the windows were very well insulated so I didn't hear any noise. Sleeps are simply perfect: I usually get back-pain, but this time I didn't because of the high quality of the bed. Every room is entitled to 2 half-litre bottles of water per day, (tap-water not being drinkable). You can have dinner either along the pool, at the bar-restaurant, or else you can go upstairs and eat french food at the Mandhari restaurant (there is a french chef ). There is a Spa/wellness centre and even a shop where you can buy souvenirs (very expensive) and things like tooth-brush, shavers, deos, etc.
Nairobi is very dangerous, even for locals, so make sure to get a safe taxi taking you everywhere. I hired during the whole stay Kenneth's taxi: he was very helpful and polite, and managed to take me everywhere on time and safe, despite the incredible jams in Nairobi and, most important, he is very cheap and honest (his mobile: [--]).
All the hotel staff is very friendly and polite, and ready to assist you in any request.
I really want to congratulate the hotel for the high quality of the service. I would definitively recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Architect_IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I was traveling the last ten years trough eastern africa and did alway a stop for e few days in nairobi serena.I have seen the serena nairobi chaning from a welcoming hotel to a n unpleasant overdoing security as a military camp.The staff is always checking you even you are quiet know . they check even in the ainsles at the sleeping floors. breafast swiming pool are great .the matrasses hard an unconfortable.The first floor roof terasse restauant is really poor and expensive. A bad imitation of french cuisine.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

fantastic service, great food, exellent position for spending some time in Nairobi.
Certainly one of the best in the Serena chain, can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CATWOMAN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

After our long flight from Heathrow, the Nairobi Serena immediately made us feel we were in Africa again. The decor, staff and the buzz of business life in the hotel was very welcoming. We went straight out to the Elephant Orphanage but had time to rest in our room before going down to the bar before dinner. The bar especially was very African in his decoration and that, together with the sounds of the frogs and crickets outside, made us appreciate that for the second time we were back in Kenya. Our glasses of wine were brought to us with the bottle so we could see exactly what we were drinking, a nice touch. Dinner buffet style was very comprehensive in its choice and in a nice area, both inside and outside near the pool. The grounds were lit and the whole hotel area was a pleasure to walk around. In fact, tiredness notwithstanding, we went back to the bar for a nightcap and finally to bed for an early start the next morning for our safari.

Because of problems at Zanzibar airport on the day we were due to fly there from Nairobi, we had 2 nights back at Serena so we were able to take advantage of more trips both to the Karen Blixen house and the giraffe sanctuary. We would recommend the Nairobi Serena Hotel as a safe welcoming haven in the middle of the City and hope we shall return soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nandpfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Serena Hotel Nairobi is a nice hotel if a little dated. The rooms are on the small side although adequate for a short stay. The hotel is clean and the service is both friendly and efficient.

Sitting beside the pool, surrounded by trees and bushes, with a drink was an ideal way to recover from a long flight and to forget that we were near the centre of a busy city.

The food and drinks in the restaurant was reasonably priced and of good quality. We were also able to get an early breakfast in our room prior to leaving to go on Safari.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reded46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#9 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing