We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better downtown options in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the better downtown options in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

If you need to be downtown, then Serena is a good place to be. The rooms are comfortable, there is a nice bar and restauarant, a sports club, business center, and a good pool. Service is generally very good. There are lots of taxis, but i dont reccomend using the hotel service to book safaris. You can line up a safari with a private driver for twenty percent of what you would pay at the hotel. All in all, was quite happy with my stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    224
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
71
163
44
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We arrived at the hotel and were offered complimentary beer, wine, coffee or tea served in our room. The pool and health centre are lovely and the atomosphere is great. Lively and vibrant. Penhaligan bath products are supplied. The only let down was check out We had pre paid and checked out at reception asking reception to provide a taxi. We headed for the airport and our driver took a phone call. He said we must return back to the hotel as there is a problem. He asked us not to panic. At the hotel we were taken back to reception and told we had not paid our bill. This was incorrect. We argued for half an hour and told staff we would miss our flight. We were held hostage and hold released on handing over our credit card and paying twice for the accommodaiton. We hope that our money will be repaid by the serena as our agent has told us that Serena got it wrong.

We would stay here again but check and double check that everything is in order before leaving the UK

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We had one night in Nairobi before we headed out on safari. I have to say I don't really know how this hotel deserves the title "One of the World's Leading Hotels". Whilst it's not bad it's not great either. The Serena lodges we stayed at on safari were fantastic but I felt this was not in their league. The room was smaller than I expected and the bathroom was very pokey. I also felt the service was much less friendly than at the other places - maybe this is all you can expect for a hotel in the middle of a city. The food was ok but again nothing to rave about. One positive though - I did enjoy the steam room and jacuzzi and it was nice to have the pool too

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We had one night in the Serena but wished we had stayed longer. We had a large room that was spotlessly clean. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. We ate in the restaurant where there was a buffet and an a la carte menu which was all very nice. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return. Nairobi is a lovely place which needs more than 1 day to explore.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the hotel before our safari adventure began. The hotel is lovely, quaint and peaceful. The rooms were a good size with cosy beds, a nice bathroom, TV, aircon and toiletries. The food was good both at the pool bar and breakfast. We left our luggage in storage whilst we were away for a week and collected it on our way to the airport. If I came back to Nairobi I would have no hesitation in staying here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Superb hotel and a very helpful staff. Enjoyed everything about my stay.
Just be wary of the sex workers at the Lounge/Bar area during evenings.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Stayed here for two nights recently at start and end of our Safari and whilst we found the hotel rooms nicely equipped with many nice touches and pleasing decor there were little things that let it down badly for a hotel that is supposed to be top class. Items missing in the room on arrival, niggly things that should not occur. The first room had a comfy bed, the second was as hard as a board, and several other people mentioned uncomfortable beds.

However, the area that truly let it down was the service in the food and beverage areas.
We ordered tea and scones for 2 by the pool after waiting an eternity for service. The waiter bought one tiny pot of tea that did not give us a full cup each. He bought out scones and whipped cream ... no butter or jam and no knives to cut the scone. He looked a bit puzzled when we asked for these and by the time he came back with them the cream had melted away to a liquid. I went to pay the bill and he then tried to bill us for 2 pots of tea and a latte as well.

Having stayed in some other "Leading Hotels of the World" this was not a good start and I actually spoke to the duty manager who was appalled and said they had many new trainees. Accordingly, we accepted his explanation and accepted his offer of a meal at the buffet ex gratia that evening. The service and food was excellent. However next morning at breakfast the service left a lot to be desired yet again. On our return again the food was excellent in the restaurant but the service was poor at dinner and the next morning at breakfast it was appalling. We ordered coffee and were given tea, ordered toast which despite asking twice did not appear and after complaining to the restaurant manager it appearred magically, after we had finished and were just leaving. Very poor indeed.

Hovever, the service at reception and the concierge on arrival and departure was top class and certainly worthy of a 5*hotel. With a little attention to housekeeping issues and a lot more attention to service in the food and beverage section the hotel could join the ranks of those worthy of its status. As a bonus, it really does have a lovely pool area for a city hotel which we found very welcoming after travel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.