We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAVE A WONDERFUL STAY BUT BE PREPARED FOR A SHOCK AT CHECK OUT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“HAVE A WONDERFUL STAY BUT BE PREPARED FOR A SHOCK AT CHECK OUT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We arrived at the hotel and were offered complimentary beer, wine, coffee or tea served in our room. The pool and health centre are lovely and the atomosphere is great. Lively and vibrant. Penhaligan bath products are supplied. The only let down was check out We had pre paid and checked out at reception asking reception to provide a taxi. We headed for the airport and our driver took a phone call. He said we must return back to the hotel as there is a problem. He asked us not to panic. At the hotel we were taken back to reception and told we had not paid our bill. This was incorrect. We argued for half an hour and told staff we would miss our flight. We were held hostage and hold released on handing over our credit card and paying twice for the accommodaiton. We hope that our money will be repaid by the serena as our agent has told us that Serena got it wrong.

We would stay here again but check and double check that everything is in order before leaving the UK

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    178
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
144
39
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We had one night in Nairobi before we headed out on safari. I have to say I don't really know how this hotel deserves the title "One of the World's Leading Hotels". Whilst it's not bad it's not great either. The Serena lodges we stayed at on safari were fantastic but I felt this was not in their league. The room was smaller than I expected and the bathroom was very pokey. I also felt the service was much less friendly than at the other places - maybe this is all you can expect for a hotel in the middle of a city. The food was ok but again nothing to rave about. One positive though - I did enjoy the steam room and jacuzzi and it was nice to have the pool too

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We had one night in the Serena but wished we had stayed longer. We had a large room that was spotlessly clean. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. We ate in the restaurant where there was a buffet and an a la carte menu which was all very nice. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return. Nairobi is a lovely place which needs more than 1 day to explore.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the hotel before our safari adventure began. The hotel is lovely, quaint and peaceful. The rooms were a good size with cosy beds, a nice bathroom, TV, aircon and toiletries. The food was good both at the pool bar and breakfast. We left our luggage in storage whilst we were away for a week and collected it on our way to the airport. If I came back to Nairobi I would have no hesitation in staying here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Superb hotel and a very helpful staff. Enjoyed everything about my stay.
Just be wary of the sex workers at the Lounge/Bar area during evenings.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Stayed here for two nights recently at start and end of our Safari and whilst we found the hotel rooms nicely equipped with many nice touches and pleasing decor there were little things that let it down badly for a hotel that is supposed to be top class. Items missing in the room on arrival, niggly things that should not occur. The first room had a comfy bed, the second was as hard as a board, and several other people mentioned uncomfortable beds.

However, the area that truly let it down was the service in the food and beverage areas.
We ordered tea and scones for 2 by the pool after waiting an eternity for service. The waiter bought one tiny pot of tea that did not give us a full cup each. He bought out scones and whipped cream ... no butter or jam and no knives to cut the scone. He looked a bit puzzled when we asked for these and by the time he came back with them the cream had melted away to a liquid. I went to pay the bill and he then tried to bill us for 2 pots of tea and a latte as well.

Having stayed in some other "Leading Hotels of the World" this was not a good start and I actually spoke to the duty manager who was appalled and said they had many new trainees. Accordingly, we accepted his explanation and accepted his offer of a meal at the buffet ex gratia that evening. The service and food was excellent. However next morning at breakfast the service left a lot to be desired yet again. On our return again the food was excellent in the restaurant but the service was poor at dinner and the next morning at breakfast it was appalling. We ordered coffee and were given tea, ordered toast which despite asking twice did not appear and after complaining to the restaurant manager it appearred magically, after we had finished and were just leaving. Very poor indeed.

Hovever, the service at reception and the concierge on arrival and departure was top class and certainly worthy of a 5*hotel. With a little attention to housekeeping issues and a lot more attention to service in the food and beverage section the hotel could join the ranks of those worthy of its status. As a bonus, it really does have a lovely pool area for a city hotel which we found very welcoming after travel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

This hotel has become our 'base'. As all visitors to Nairobi are booked here and word is quickly spreading ....very friendly service and the rooms are in good condition.
Worth every penny..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.