We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overall Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Offer (Fri - Sun)
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Overall Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Conveniently Located with all basic facilites. One of the best breakfast buffet's in the African continent. Rooms are decent sized and well equiped. The staff is very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tgupta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

A most luxurious hotel. Everything about it was perfect from the pool at 7.30 am to the buffet breakfast, the gardens...everything.

Views were over one of the main roads and parks. I even watched an Indian parade which was so colourful... an amazing place to relax before and after a trip to the wild plains of Kenya!..

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
141 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

I have stayed in 5 hotels in Nairobi and this is the best do far. I paid 220 USD incl tax but excluding breakfast.

The pool area is great- great pool, in a beautiful garden, nice gym, the best mango juice in the poolside bar. All you would expect from a proper 5 star hotel.

There is wireless internet throughout the hotel but reception is patchy in some rooms. I changed rooms as my first room had no reception at all.

The rooms are nicely furnished with good amenities. I never used the AC because the windows open, Nairobi climate is perfect and there were flowers outside my window.

the food in the hotel is good by Kenyan standards, although Kenyan food is mostly lacking. Surprised at the large amount of prostitutes roaming the hotel after 6PM- i think the hotel should crack down on that.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello_Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

Stayed here for just one night before departing on safari. After a long overnight flight this excellent hotel was just what we needed to relax. Lovely tropical garden with big swimming pool, excellent restaurants, very comfortable rooms and the best of all - very friendly service with no pretentions. A great place to stay.
Anne F
London

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

I was very disappointed with Serana Nairobi.
The hotel is probably the best in Nairobi, but my experience is not so great.
Check in was quick but the attendants were all but warm and friendly.
The room I got ( nr 615 ) was old and in desperate need of refurbishment: the airconditioning was not working properly and, being adiacent to the elevator, it was very noisy 24 hours a day.
The day after I obtained to change the room: I was given a twin bedded with new carpet facing the park: the room was very small but prettier than the previous: It had with new carpet but the furniture needed to be be changed.
The food was very good quality instead and the service at restaurant was efficient and polite.
The swimming pool is large and nice.
The most irritating thing was the rate: the best through internet website was 365 USD B/B per night. Through my local partner I got 270 USD per night B/B. Since the room I was given was not satisfactory, they apologized and reduced the rate to 250 USD per night.
I was amazed of how variable the rate could be in this hotel: beware of this and always negotiate it !!
Check out was slow and took about 15 mins at 5.45 in the morning: pray God that they get quickly the authorization to charge your credit card or you will be stuck for ages in front of the cashier waiting for your check out card without which you will never get out from there.

  • Liked — The food buffet
  • Disliked — room rates vary depending on your ability in negotiation
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

The hotel was booked by our travel agent as a stopover between our safari and our time in Mauritius. To be fair, we were only there just over 24 hours so I'll be brief.

The traffic in Nairobi is horrendous. Brakes do not exist and it's a hair raising experience. The hotel is lovely but ina slightly non desirable area of Nairobi and we were advised by hotel staff not to visit the ATM and take care when venturing out. That may be just have been to ensure we stayed in the hotel though.

After five days on safari, we just wanted to chill out, so spent the day by the pool. My Hubby used the gym and sauna, which he said was lovely. But, just to warn you, clothes are optional in there!!

Our room was lovely and we were given a free bottle of bubbly. Nice big beds. Quick tip, the phone fees are horrendous - it's far cheaper using your mobile. I paid £32 for a five minute call home to my parents.

The buffet restaurant is lovely, especially when they have their seafood night. BBQ lobster, crevettes, the works. Yum!

We had a very nice stay here and I would use it again if we venture to Kenya, but it is expensive, by English, let alone Kenyan standards. Two evening buffets, a few beers (!), one phone call and our bill on check out came to just under £300. Still, you're only on honeymoon once, eh?!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicsterIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Staff were friendly and helpful. All vehicles are checked when entering the hotel grounds.

  • Liked — The security checks made you feel safe.
  • Disliked — Nowhere to exercise or walk
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank QldTisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#9 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Otel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing