We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenyan luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 126 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kenyan luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We only stayed for one night, but the hotel is really a magnificent place to stay, it has a feel of luxury and the Nairobi National Park is right outside your window, mixing comfort with a touch of nature.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
We thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

Please note that every hotel guest is very important to us, and our goal has been to surpass each guest's needs and expectations, hence your feedback will motivate us to continue improving on service delivery.

Thank you once again and we look forward to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Daniel Kang'u
General Manager
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    217
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
68
160
43
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having stayed here on and off since the 90's and then not having been back in a while I was impressed with the modern makeover. I remembered it as a tired old grand hotel from the past that needed some serious updating. And updating has been done. Rooms are modernised and luxurious, with some high tech touches, like phone chargers for all major cellphone brands right next to the bed. A great touch.

Just a word of warning, if you book on hotels.com/expedia/etc. ensure you're getting Bed and Breakfast, we got stung US$27 for breakfast because I didn't make sure of this when booking through a third party booking site.

Staff are as warm, welcoming and hospitable as any top Kenyan hotel, like this one.

For the first time in many years I left my toothbrush at home, most hotels have phased out free toothbrushes in the bathroom, so I was happy to actually put the complimentary toothbrush to good use. Which they replaced with a new kit the next day.

Room Tip: make sure you're rate is B&B before booking, otherwise be aware the charge is about US$27 fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience following your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive guest feedback.

Please note that it has always been a pleasure to host you during the various visits to Nairobi. The team and I are committed to high standards of service delivery that surpasses our guests expectations and therefore your feedback is very important to us, as this motivates us to meet this goal.

Thank you once again and we look forward to yet another opportunity to be of service to you in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Daniel Kang'u
General Manager
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very upmarket hotel with tight security (most welcome), excellent service throughout and throbbing with activity- clearly then place to visit with a variety of dining areas as as an exceptional fine dining ( but casual) restaurant.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that we were able to deliver service that met your satisfaction. Please note that the team and I aim to surpass guests needs and expectations and therefore your feedback is very important to us, as this inspires us to improve on service delivery.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nairobi Serena Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Daniel Kang'u
General Manager
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This proved to be a great place to stay. This was my first trip to Kenya. The staff was always very friendly and accomodating. The decor, the pool-side restaurant, the workout room, all were a good value for the money. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking time to share your experience, following your recent stay with us.

We were happy to host you and are glad that your first time experience in Kenya and indeed Nairobi Serena was memorable. Please note that it is comments such as yours that inspire us to continue to improve on service delivery.

Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely

Daniel Kang'u
General Manager
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
186 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is luxurious. It is located in the center of Nairobi. About 40 minutes from the airport if the traffic isn't bad, but it can be very bad. Very good collection of African art and textiles in the halls and lobbies. Friendly service; people learn your name and greet you at every turn. Beautiful swimming pool in very pretty grounds. Spotlessly clean. Very good amenities: the works; slippers, bathrobes, fancy soaps. The buffets are sumptuous. I had one of the best mojitos ever in the bar. Food is expensive. The gym is a fullly equipped health club, with lots of cardio and weight machines, really anything you would want for exercise. This hotel is pricey (around $250UD/night) but a good value for this level of comfort and service. Wifi is free and fast.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your experience during your recent stay with us.

Please note that feedback from our guests is very important to us as this motivates us to improve on service delivery. We are honoured to have hosted you and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Sincerely


Daniel Kang'u
General Manager
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like the Nairobi Serena Hotel. There is something solid, classy and cozy about the whole ambiance. I got a big welcome smile from the front desk receptionist upon arrival and it felt so good after my day long trip into Kenya not knowing what to expect. Everything is easy to do in the Hotel and everyone attends to you with a smile! The waiters at the restaurant ask about your day at dinner and appear genuinely interested! The bar is trendy and you see nice professional people having drinks. You can have breakfast or dinner outdoors by the pool. The Pool is heated and I swam every morning before going to work. It was great!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay with us.

Please note that it our aim to meet our guests' expectations and feedback is very important to us as this inspires us to improve on service delivery, thereby making our guests' stay memorable.

We look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Daniel Kang'u
General Manager
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in Kenya May 2015 for business and had the fortune of staying in this hotel. everything was brilliant, Big rooms, very friendly staff, great food, awesome gym and spa. i stayed on the 6th floor my room was quite and very spacious. WIFI was free but unfortunately not super fast.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate the time taken to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.

Please note that the team continuously strive to ensure that all guests' stay is memorable and therefore your feedback inspires us to continuously improve on service delivery.

We were honoured to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nairobi Serena Hotel, hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Daniel Kang'u
General Manager
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 126 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.