We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and friendly service, very comfortable and spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London
1 review
“Fantastic and friendly service, very comfortable and spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

Stayed here for just one night before departing on safari. After a long overnight flight this excellent hotel was just what we needed to relax. Lovely tropical garden with big swimming pool, excellent restaurants, very comfortable rooms and the best of all - very friendly service with no pretentions. A great place to stay.
Anne F
London

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    175
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
144
39
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

I was very disappointed with Serana Nairobi.
The hotel is probably the best in Nairobi, but my experience is not so great.
Check in was quick but the attendants were all but warm and friendly.
The room I got ( nr 615 ) was old and in desperate need of refurbishment: the airconditioning was not working properly and, being adiacent to the elevator, it was very noisy 24 hours a day.
The day after I obtained to change the room: I was given a twin bedded with new carpet facing the park: the room was very small but prettier than the previous: It had with new carpet but the furniture needed to be be changed.
The food was very good quality instead and the service at restaurant was efficient and polite.
The swimming pool is large and nice.
The most irritating thing was the rate: the best through internet website was 365 USD B/B per night. Through my local partner I got 270 USD per night B/B. Since the room I was given was not satisfactory, they apologized and reduced the rate to 250 USD per night.
I was amazed of how variable the rate could be in this hotel: beware of this and always negotiate it !!
Check out was slow and took about 15 mins at 5.45 in the morning: pray God that they get quickly the authorization to charge your credit card or you will be stuck for ages in front of the cashier waiting for your check out card without which you will never get out from there.

  • Liked — The food buffet
  • Disliked — room rates vary depending on your ability in negotiation
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

The hotel was booked by our travel agent as a stopover between our safari and our time in Mauritius. To be fair, we were only there just over 24 hours so I'll be brief.

The traffic in Nairobi is horrendous. Brakes do not exist and it's a hair raising experience. The hotel is lovely but ina slightly non desirable area of Nairobi and we were advised by hotel staff not to visit the ATM and take care when venturing out. That may be just have been to ensure we stayed in the hotel though.

After five days on safari, we just wanted to chill out, so spent the day by the pool. My Hubby used the gym and sauna, which he said was lovely. But, just to warn you, clothes are optional in there!!

Our room was lovely and we were given a free bottle of bubbly. Nice big beds. Quick tip, the phone fees are horrendous - it's far cheaper using your mobile. I paid £32 for a five minute call home to my parents.

The buffet restaurant is lovely, especially when they have their seafood night. BBQ lobster, crevettes, the works. Yum!

We had a very nice stay here and I would use it again if we venture to Kenya, but it is expensive, by English, let alone Kenyan standards. Two evening buffets, a few beers (!), one phone call and our bill on check out came to just under £300. Still, you're only on honeymoon once, eh?!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Staff were friendly and helpful. All vehicles are checked when entering the hotel grounds.

  • Liked — The security checks made you feel safe.
  • Disliked — Nowhere to exercise or walk
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

This was my second stay at the Serena. We stayed one night prior to going on to see the Gorillas in Rwanda and then back again for 4 nights afterwards. It is a lovely hotel, very nice staff, good food, especially the breakfast. It is centrally located, safe and has a great pool. My boyfriend had gotten bitten on safari and my other friend had tonsilitis and they called a local doctor for us. They went out of their way to accomodate everyone of us.Rooms are clean , business center is well equipped. The only negative I can say is that it took 45 minutes everytime we ordered something off the menu . Just don't be in a hurry. We complained a few times and they were very nice about it, but service is slow unless you do the buffetts.I think it is the best hotel in Nairobi.

  • Liked — Safe, clean and nice staff
  • Disliked — Very slow service in restaurant when ordering
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed at this wonderful hotel after a long flight (which was delayed) from Heathrow airport, London. Our room was on the 3rd floor, it was very nice, comfortable and clean.

We went swimming in the beautiful pool and lazed on the sun loungers, enjoying the warm sun. The gymnasium was well equipped & the other facilities; sauna etc were great.

When we returned to our room we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly and roses, amazing! Our holiday was to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary.

The staff were excellent, friendly and polite. The public areas were beautiful, stunning floral displays everywhere. We ate in the Maghreb restaurant, the food was superb on every occasion.

After a week on safari and a brief stay in Mombassa, we spent another night in this hotel in a suite! Wow, what a difference. Spacious lounge area, huge bed, orchids in every room, luxurious bathroom. Very nice indeed, excellent!

A few minutes later we were surpised by a knock on the door, another bottle of bubby, more roses and nibbles arrived. We were made to feel truely special.

We would definitely recommend a stay here and would return again in the future.

  • Liked — Great location & staff, superb food, beautiful pool and amenities.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

We booked through Trailfinders who used Octopus and gave us a pre-paid reservation form. On arrival they did not seem to be able to find the reservation, then suddenly said ok and gave us the room - no hint of a problem. At check out on Sunday they wanted to charge us the full rack rate as they said the reservation had not been paid. They then asked us to complete a blank credit card slip and said they would put through the correct amount after checking. We refused. As the office of Octopus was closed we had no alternative but to sign two credit card slips, one for our meals etc and the other for the full rack rate for room and breakfast or we would not have been allowed to leave the hotel. Simon on Cashiers desk (management? )promised to check the next day when Octopus office was open and tell us the outcome. He did not. He did however contact trailfinders and said the reservation had been paid. Wednesday we saw a differing amount had been debited from our credit card - an amount they did not have a signed chit for. We are now trying to sort this out via. trailfinders who have been magnificent.
The Hotel: Room nice. Bed hard. Buffet evening meal Ok only. Wine very expensive. Reception desk - disorganised and not very friendly on check in. Pool area wonderful. Health club and gym wonderful. One nice touch a complementary drink on arrival.
Advice : If you reserve here contact hotel before you arrive and double check they have the reservation so you have time to address the problem in advance. We had a game drive booked in Nairobi National Park and had we not gone to check out over 1 hour before we were due to be collected this would have been spoiled.

  • Liked — room ambience, spa
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;