We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel combines open gardens and comfort in the heart of Nairobi. I love the pool area and gym which allows you to relax completely after travelling. Rooms are good and perfect for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    187
    35
    8
    7
See reviews for
60
151
40
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had an airport pick up arranged for me which I thought would be an easier option for my first trip to Nairobi. It was absolutely fantastic. I was met at the airport by the very charming Maria who made sure I was taken care of. The hotel minibus took me on the long-ish journey into town and was perfectly straight forward. I had the same service on the trip back to the airport which is highly recommended.

The property is incredibly secure and you feel very safe there. It is a popular location for government ministers and business leaders to meet for breakfast and other meetings so security is particularly good. It does seem to be a key meeting place for locals in dark suits. The interior of the lobby was traditional but pleasant. It has a bit of a pan-African hunting lodge feel to it. I know some reviews say the place is in need of an overhaul but I disagree – it was quite charming and felt like a uniquely Kenyan experience – which is great in an age of generic hotel design.

One comment I kept making was “I think my grandparents would love a place like this”. It’s not that it’s old – it’s perfectly new – but it does feel like you’re stepping back in time. I loved the “theme” of the hotel and think it should be a real draw to the place – particularly for tourists.

The rooms are very comfortable. The bed was great. The bathroom and toiletries were of a very high standard. Housekeeping was meticulous.

This is one property where the staff really makes the difference. They were insanely accommodating and always friendly. Wherever you were in the hotel, the staff made sure you were OK and taken care of.

The pool area is lovely. The only peculiarity about it is that one end of it is the restaurant where all the aforementioned business and government people sit for meetings and drinks. I was there on business too but it must be quite peculiar for tourists wanting to lounge by the pool – but not uncomfortable as it’s such a large space.

The food served by the pool and in the restaurant is great. I had breakfast, lunch and dinner there and it was great. The Indian food in the evening was good (but being a Londoner I’m spoiled with this cuisine). The breakfast buffet was awesome – there’s so much choice. Service can be a little slow but I think that’s a common local characteristic.

The gym is massive and incredibly well-equipped. It’s open to public memberships so there were one or two non-residents there but it didn’t make a difference as it was so large.

I had a great stay and would definitely come back to the Serena. It’s a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar City, Zanzibar Urban, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its always nice to enter the Nairobi Serena after spending hours in the Nairobi traffic. Lovely large rooms and a nice huge bed. The staff are very attentive and gentle. The hotel give you a very good sense of security and the lounge area is lovely and tranquil.

One of the best highlight of my stay at the Serena, Nairobi is the dining experience. Praise to the unsung heroes of the fine dining kitchen staff.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights there whilst on our way to safari. The staff were excellent, the food and service were also excellent. Our room got the afternoon sun and so was a bit warm, the air conditioner got a good work out. The hotel is perhaps an 80's style place but good size rooms and clean. I would recommend this hotel to stay at. The bar and area around the pool is lovely and the gardens are nice and green and cool, in what is a hot busy dusty city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated in a very pretty area of Nairobi, this hotel has all the trappings of a 5 star hotel. Excellent security, very professional staff, and enough luxury to head off again for further wilderness adventures. We were given a smoking room inadvertently, and despite being extremely busy, they moved us with no fuss, and minimal inconvenience to an even nicer room. The tapas bar was ideal for a casual meal, as we were not keen to wander the streets! The meals were outstanding and service faultless. The doorman in gorgeous livery made our return stay special.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel overlooks the park. All rooms quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed again at the Serena . Great service and breakfast but rooms and carpets need some work. Food is decent and so are the facilities but needs an overall. The reception staff and concierge are very helpful and some of them will greet you by name if you smile at them.

Room Tip: all rooms are decent if you don't want to hear the frogs croaking take a view facing the city at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have previously stayed at the Sarova Panafric but managed to get the Serena at the same price and having had a series of poor stays at Panafric I was happy to give Serena a try. i was so pleased I did. it is a class apart and i totally enjoyed my stay. I stayed for a total of 7 nights over 2 weeks and every area was very good.
I will definitely stay here when in Nairobi from now on

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.