We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Pros:
Stayed in this hotel for five nights in Nairobi and I enjoyed it. The pick up service from the airport to the reception were all nice. The check in process was impressive despite the large number of visitors they did everything to try and speed up the process. I could feel the African hospitality here which helped me relax. The rooms were nice, very clean and the bathroom being an important thing for me was well kept. Room service was also good and they tried to set the right expectations whenever I needed something. Another thing I appreciated here is the fact that they have a list of pillows in which a guest can request which one suits them best and it will be availed. Despite being situated in the city, Serena has a relaxed atmosphere!
Cons:
You might want to venture out for your meals ( dinner and lunch)

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the gardens they have a great view in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    228
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
73
166
44
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour before going on safari. Very nice and clean nice meals and excellent staff. Even though it was in Nairobi it felt very safe I would recommend this hotel to all couples and families

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Wonderful, well located hotel for anyone needing to spend time in Nairobi and not on a budget. Comfortable rooms, with Wifi, large beds, flatscreen TV and mini fridge. Hotel has a great pool and a couple of different restaurants to choose from. The breakfast buffet in the morning had all the typical breakfast servings, with lots of fresh fruit and an omelette station. There is outside and inside seating. My caveat for first time visitors is that it does not really have anything that distinguishes it from any other 4-star hotel across the globe. While it is comfortable and elegant it really does not stand out as being a unique place to stay in Kenya. That is really not a big issue for someone that is there on business or has been there many times before, but if this is your once in a lifetime trip to Kenya there are alternative lodgings that offer a bit more charm. That said if you need a safe, comfortable, and convenient place to stay this may fit the bill.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Really enjoyed an unplanned night here due to a cancelled international flight. I booked through online through Expedia only a few hours in advance for a deluxe queen room. The staff are truly excellent, and i found them very keen to make sure my stay was comfortable.

My room (deluxe queen bed) was traditionally furnished and very well equipped. The A/C worked well.

The hotel is pricey but justified by the service. I ate in the bar off the snack menu and the food was superbly cooked and presented, but again a little pricey. The breakfast buffet is a real treat - a wide variety of hot and cold food.

The WIFI internet connection in the rooms is excellent. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: WiFi was free with my deluxe room, but not sure if that is the case for other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

If a hotel can be romantic, this is it. Lovely lobby, bar and library area. Public spaces are beautifully decorated with artifacts from all over Africa. The garden is lush, with the most fantastic cricket and frogs sounds after dusk (except smoking is allowed there, and it carries to the pool dining area). BEAUTIFUL, well maintained pool and spa. The hotel service is quite good, and the staff very thoughtful and accomodating. The food and dinner service in the main dining room, the Maghreb, is decent but overpriced given that it is neither inspired nor interesting (particularly if you are vegetarian or vegan), excepting breakfast which is consistently good. The gym is small but well equipped with a reasonable selection of cardio, weights and machines. Spin and other classes, though few at night. All the rooms have great light and lovely hardwood furniture and appointments, great bedding.

The hair salon ambience and service is inconsistent with the rest of the hotel but there are other options available nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool or garden will get some noise during the week from dining area below, more on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed in July 2014 at the Nairobi Serena for 4 nights. Our plan was to stay someplace very comfortable after a 24 hour journey from New York, recover from jet lag, see a few sites in Nairobi, and then depart on a Safari. The hotel exceeded my expectations: the facility is top notch, with a beautiful gym/spa (including excellent massage), great outdoor pool, nice restaurant, and good, reasonably priced room service. The hotel is easy walking distance to downtown, including the City Market (where we found better prices for crafts than we found many other locations once we were on the road on our Safari).

Finally, the hotel doctor: I've traveled all over the world and rarely gotten ill, but on this trip, I did catch something on our 3rd day, and the hotel doctor was an enormous help: he came to my room within 90 minutes, spent a good amount of time checking me out, provided the necessary meds (antibiotics, anti-nausea, hydrating salts), and then was available to us by phone even after we'd left Nairobi on our Safari, which I greatly appreciate; and his bill, by American standards, was extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

You want a great feeling in the city? Nairobi Serena is your preferred choice. pop in for lunch if you got no time; great delicacies! But I would recommend one or two nights.... Serena is preferred by Serena Williams and you know why. Last time she came the hotel was her home so why don't follow the footsteps?

Room Tip: East facing if you want a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.