We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional, helpful and courteous staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Professional, helpful and courteous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Really enjoyed an unplanned night here due to a cancelled international flight. I booked through online through Expedia only a few hours in advance for a deluxe queen room. The staff are truly excellent, and i found them very keen to make sure my stay was comfortable.

My room (deluxe queen bed) was traditionally furnished and very well equipped. The A/C worked well.

The hotel is pricey but justified by the service. I ate in the bar off the snack menu and the food was superbly cooked and presented, but again a little pricey. The breakfast buffet is a real treat - a wide variety of hot and cold food.

The WIFI internet connection in the rooms is excellent. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: WiFi was free with my deluxe room, but not sure if that is the case for other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    231
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
74
167
45
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

If a hotel can be romantic, this is it. Lovely lobby, bar and library area. Public spaces are beautifully decorated with artifacts from all over Africa. The garden is lush, with the most fantastic cricket and frogs sounds after dusk (except smoking is allowed there, and it carries to the pool dining area). BEAUTIFUL, well maintained pool and spa. The hotel service is quite good, and the staff very thoughtful and accomodating. The food and dinner service in the main dining room, the Maghreb, is decent but overpriced given that it is neither inspired nor interesting (particularly if you are vegetarian or vegan), excepting breakfast which is consistently good. The gym is small but well equipped with a reasonable selection of cardio, weights and machines. Spin and other classes, though few at night. All the rooms have great light and lovely hardwood furniture and appointments, great bedding.

The hair salon ambience and service is inconsistent with the rest of the hotel but there are other options available nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool or garden will get some noise during the week from dining area below, more on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed in July 2014 at the Nairobi Serena for 4 nights. Our plan was to stay someplace very comfortable after a 24 hour journey from New York, recover from jet lag, see a few sites in Nairobi, and then depart on a Safari. The hotel exceeded my expectations: the facility is top notch, with a beautiful gym/spa (including excellent massage), great outdoor pool, nice restaurant, and good, reasonably priced room service. The hotel is easy walking distance to downtown, including the City Market (where we found better prices for crafts than we found many other locations once we were on the road on our Safari).

Finally, the hotel doctor: I've traveled all over the world and rarely gotten ill, but on this trip, I did catch something on our 3rd day, and the hotel doctor was an enormous help: he came to my room within 90 minutes, spent a good amount of time checking me out, provided the necessary meds (antibiotics, anti-nausea, hydrating salts), and then was available to us by phone even after we'd left Nairobi on our Safari, which I greatly appreciate; and his bill, by American standards, was extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

You want a great feeling in the city? Nairobi Serena is your preferred choice. pop in for lunch if you got no time; great delicacies! But I would recommend one or two nights.... Serena is preferred by Serena Williams and you know why. Last time she came the hotel was her home so why don't follow the footsteps?

Room Tip: East facing if you want a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Weekend break to Nairobi, wanted somewhere with a convenient location, but also safe and nice!! This definitely fitted that description, convenient location to get to the main sights from, felt safe and the decor and ambience are nice too. Bed in particular very comfortable!!! Food and drinks nice, service very good, not cheap but then you wouldn't expect it to be!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Looks and feels tired and a bit 90s. It needs a major refurb. However, the service more than makes up for it. The food, the bar, the security, the reception and the gift store. All good. Everyone greets you and genuinely so. i loved both the breakfast and lunch buffet with a bit of local foods. Both buffets were brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Went on business and stayed a week. This is not a slick 5 star hotel, but one which evokes the charm of Africa. It is an older hotel, well maintained and has its unique feel.

The good:
- Arranged a hotel car for airport pickup as I was arriving at 2 am. Efficient, and a nice Mercedes with a good driver.
- Spacious but not large room, well maintained by housekeeping. The staff on my floor were both friendly and good.
- Solid service evident in all staff
- Good spa - went for a massage one evening and the masseuse did a great job. A bit pricey but good.
- excellent breakfast which was included in my room rate. I also had some dinners there and the food was generally good.

What can improve:
- There is only one Elevator, and its pretty slow. Needs an upgrade
- the shower is a bit out of date and they could be replaced by newer units which provide a nicer jet
- The gym though nice is just too crowded with equipment and they need an expansion. You have to negotiate between equipment and people to get to your target.
- they could soundproof the rooms a bit better as you can hear the traffic near by


Tips - if you have a day free try doing some of the outdoor sights e.g. Nairobi National Park, the giraffe center and the David Sheldrick center (elephant orphanage - superb!). I arranged this though the concierge in advance, and though expensive was worth it. $ 240 or so for the entire trip in a dedicated van for myself.

Select your hotel based on your business location as Nairobi traffic can be pretty bad. For me this wasnt great but I managed. Also use the hotel cars for a reliable ride.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.