We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Los Osos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was a five star hotel. We were treated very well. The service was exceptional. The grounds very clean and the food was a very good. Would love to return someday. There is a beautiful pool area and gym area was good size. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    174
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
144
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Serena knows it is good and it delivers. Classic styling, excellent service, a fabulous buffet, and convenient to the airport. It's in the hustle and bustle of the city so getting to and from the airport can be tricky depending on the time of day. Still, if you are new to the city, it gives you a taste. We got to see some of the serendipity of the city while sitting in traffic watching a group of roller skaters weaving in and out of the slow traffic. We arrived in the evening and left for safari in the morning. Having been out roughing it, the pampering by a well run staff and convenience were hard to beat. You can change money 24 hours a day. We considered leaving some of our stuff since we were coming back after a safari. They were equipped to handle it. I had the sense that they had such depth of experience that they could handle just about any request we made of them. My only quibble is that the hotel is looking a bit worn around the edges. No question that it is beautiful. But I noticed a stain on the marble from a leaky faucet. And the shower head was a bit plugged and tended to spray both inside and outside the shower space. The people were top notch. The buffet spread was delicious and beautifully presented. I had the sense that the facility itself needed a bit of loving attention.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very few hotels in the world that have all these advantages, the friendliness of the staff is exceptional and they are really ready to fulfil all your requirements.. the hotel is very clean and tidy, you can't complain about anything.. the gym has all types of equipment's that you may need, and the pool is quite spacious, and more important, very clean.
the breakfast had a wide variety of choices, I also had dinner in the hotel, and the food really tastes good, compliments to the Chef

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed there for 10 nights ( work related ).
While the baths are a bit run down everything else was nearly perfect : breakfast had a huge variety, brunch was good as well, steaks at dinner were perfect.
Rooms were superbly cleaned, towels changed daily or even twice a day, turn down service as well. Air cons good enough. Beds comfy and big. Carpets all over the floors provided noise reduction. I ve also used their dry cleaning service and was very pleased with the results.
No bugs of any sorts.
Gym is great as also full of locals and people and trainers are great there.
And while ppl recommend Villa Rosa Serena is much more cosy and gives a home feeling while VR feels a bit overdone and too big ( like an airport ).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Serena hotel as a stop over, either side of our trip to the Masai Mara for our honeymoon.

Following recent events in Kenya and UK government advice, we were unsure what to expect.

Firstly, the hotel felt extremely safe - lots of security and guards present without being intrusive. However, Nairobi felt and is, a very safe place.

The hotel staff were wonderful - friendly, smiling, efficient. Nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were fantastic and spacious! We were kindly upgraded on both our stays for our honeymoon, including to a garden suite. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully presented. Free WiFi was available.

The food was delicious - we had both lunch and dinner at the hotel - lunch by the pool and dinner in the fine dining restaurant, accompanied by a fantastic pianist. Breakfast offered an enormous variety of food and we did not leave hungry.

We shall definitely return to Kenya and to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to stay for business travel. This would be my first choice of hotels to stay in Nairobi.Excellent location as well, near the city but slightly away from the madness of Mombasa road. Great bar, great vibe, lovely staff, big gym,clean rooms, good wifi. Overall just a great experience.Will most definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here two nights at the start of a Kenyan safari and returned here again at the very end of the safari for a "day room" to stay for several hours before our international flights back home.

First, the property itself is stunning.. the pool, the breakfast area, gift shops, bars & lounges, top notch in every regard. It's close to the city but you feel you are in the midst of a calm little oasis. The breakfast buffet provided a host of delicious fruit juices and had omelettes cooked to order along with a host of other deliciousness.

Our only complain was our room itself. Our air conditioning never worked properly, and it was so hot in our room, I ended up sleeping on the floor and got no sleep at all our first night. Engineers came in the second night and fixed it. When we returned 10 days later for our day room, we were exhausted from days of safari and only wanted two things.... televison and air conditioning. Neither worked. We were only there for about 7 hours, so ended up just taking a shower and leaving the property for lunch, instead of stay in the hot room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with air conditioning that is working properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.