We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Again a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Cape Town
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Once Again a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A really great hotel to stay in for business. Late checking in was fast and got to my room, which as usual was great, and a 4am start with an on time wake up call and breakfast delivered to my room before leaving for the airport. Really good service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    181
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
147
40
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A wonderful elegant hotel characterized by the unique flavors of africa with efficient service, good location and luxury amenities. Arrived late in the evening to find our room ready for sleep with mineral water bedside, a small fresh fruit tray, and welcoming turn down service. The checkin process including metal detector scanning of all luggage and handbags upon arrival was speedy in part due to the late evening hour. The room was elegantly furnished with the warm tones and dark woods so prevalent in the area. The bathroom offered double sinks, a large walk in shower, separate tub and enclosed wc. Our room was spotless and tidy. The following morning we enjoyed a late continental breakfast in room - ‎ our order arrived within 15 mins with fresh made bakeries and coffee. For lunch we sampled some local dishes including samosas, chicken skewers, spring rolls and vegetable tart. Service and food were good. One evening we had snacks and sandwiches n the bar - drinks were accompanied by a generous sampling of chips, olives and nuts. Definitely a really good hotel centrally located with excellent accommodation. one note is that hotel takes security seriously - armed gatehouse at the hotel driveway entrance , metal detector at the hotel entrance, guards on each floor and guards through the hotel.

Room Tip: great view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed for one night in Early June. Nice food, gym, spacious room. I stayed in a small deluxe which was still so spacious for me and looked newly fitted. Internet was fast enough and had to work on the night I arrived but still found good food in the restaurants downstairs. The hi-tech Gym is quite busy in the mornings (6am) when I visited. It is well set up but a little squashed with few open spaces and lots of equipment. Power should be a problem. Cut out twice in five hours although blackouts were short, 1-2 minutes. They have thought to put everything you may need in the room including an ambrella for when its drizzling. All nice. Apart from the AC unit whose fun seemed to whirl out dust. I switch it off minutes after my arrival.

Room Tip: Stayed on 6 floor, its quiet and room facing the acacias and city view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Serena Nairobi is a wonderfully charming hotel. Its location is fantastic near the centre and not far from the Nairobi National Park and many other tourist attractions in Nairobi.

The rooms were very nice (ask for a garden view) and had the amenities you would want when staying in a hotel. Very quick internet connection as well.

The hotel does have a couple of places to eat, although if you have children you are restricted from one restraint which only allows over 18’s and this leaves you with the pool bar or Maghreb or else room service. Room service and pool bar menu’s are shorter versions of the Maghreb menu but the restraint does offer themed buffet evenings which change theme each day. The food was good but can become boring if you do intend to eat in at the hotel, if you are staying for more than 2 nights it would be worth exploring some places outside. Breakfast is served in Maghreb and is a fantastic buffet offering a variety to meet all tastes and is worth enjoying. Next to the lobby you will find a lively sports bar.

The hotel also has a very good Business Centre where you can use their own computers and printers, scanners etc. The IT team are very helpful should you have any difficulties. There is a conference centre for events and opposite there are a couple of shops and a salon. Outside next to the gardens is a very nice swimming pool which is temperature controlled. Behind the pool is a gym and also the spa.

The Serena was a great hotel and ideal location for our visit as we came at a time when the various Western governments had travel warnings and we just wanted to visit the national park and a few nearby attractions and stay in the hotel. The travel to airport was not too painful as we avoided rush hour and was therefore a 20 – 25 minute journey. The staff at the hotel were exceptional, helping as much as they could. All were smiley and friendly and willing to help, a great asset to the hotel.

In summary a nice and friendly hotel, with a great team and a few things to keep you busy. Located centrally and near the tourist areas as well as near the CBD and reasonable distance from the airport. Good for both business travellers and for families on holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I recently stayed at Serena for 2 nights. It was a comfortable stay and the staff was courteous and meeting expectations. The restaurants were good and offered choice for the vegetarians. I recommend the Hotel and this is well located and closer to the business centre. The price is a bit higher otherwise it is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Serena Hotel for one night between our Masai Mara safari and flying to the Seychelles. It felt very safe and the staff were great. It was our honeymoon, and we had a bottle of champagne waiting fir us in the room. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed with huge comfy beds. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was very good and a lovely setting. Security at the hotel seemed very good. We would definitely stay there again if back in Nairobi - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Single woman traveling alone for research on first trip to Kenya and Nairobi felt safe and well cared for. Serena is central to everything and staff was amazing - courteous, caring and met all my needs. This is not budget, but nothing in Nairobi is and I was happy to know I was safe. Amidst all the noise and traffic of the city, the hotel grounds were lovely - good thing since i never ventured out after dark.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;