We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conviniently located and nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Conviniently located and nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed for one night in Early June. Nice food, gym, spacious room. I stayed in a small deluxe which was still so spacious for me and looked newly fitted. Internet was fast enough and had to work on the night I arrived but still found good food in the restaurants downstairs. The hi-tech Gym is quite busy in the mornings (6am) when I visited. It is well set up but a little squashed with few open spaces and lots of equipment. Power should be a problem. Cut out twice in five hours although blackouts were short, 1-2 minutes. They have thought to put everything you may need in the room including an ambrella for when its drizzling. All nice. Apart from the AC unit whose fun seemed to whirl out dust. I switch it off minutes after my arrival.

Room Tip: Stayed on 6 floor, its quiet and room facing the acacias and city view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    209
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
68
160
43
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Serena Nairobi is a wonderfully charming hotel. Its location is fantastic near the centre and not far from the Nairobi National Park and many other tourist attractions in Nairobi.

The rooms were very nice (ask for a garden view) and had the amenities you would want when staying in a hotel. Very quick internet connection as well.

The hotel does have a couple of places to eat, although if you have children you are restricted from one restraint which only allows over 18’s and this leaves you with the pool bar or Maghreb or else room service. Room service and pool bar menu’s are shorter versions of the Maghreb menu but the restraint does offer themed buffet evenings which change theme each day. The food was good but can become boring if you do intend to eat in at the hotel, if you are staying for more than 2 nights it would be worth exploring some places outside. Breakfast is served in Maghreb and is a fantastic buffet offering a variety to meet all tastes and is worth enjoying. Next to the lobby you will find a lively sports bar.

The hotel also has a very good Business Centre where you can use their own computers and printers, scanners etc. The IT team are very helpful should you have any difficulties. There is a conference centre for events and opposite there are a couple of shops and a salon. Outside next to the gardens is a very nice swimming pool which is temperature controlled. Behind the pool is a gym and also the spa.

The Serena was a great hotel and ideal location for our visit as we came at a time when the various Western governments had travel warnings and we just wanted to visit the national park and a few nearby attractions and stay in the hotel. The travel to airport was not too painful as we avoided rush hour and was therefore a 20 – 25 minute journey. The staff at the hotel were exceptional, helping as much as they could. All were smiley and friendly and willing to help, a great asset to the hotel.

In summary a nice and friendly hotel, with a great team and a few things to keep you busy. Located centrally and near the tourist areas as well as near the CBD and reasonable distance from the airport. Good for both business travellers and for families on holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I recently stayed at Serena for 2 nights. It was a comfortable stay and the staff was courteous and meeting expectations. The restaurants were good and offered choice for the vegetarians. I recommend the Hotel and this is well located and closer to the business centre. The price is a bit higher otherwise it is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Serena Hotel for one night between our Masai Mara safari and flying to the Seychelles. It felt very safe and the staff were great. It was our honeymoon, and we had a bottle of champagne waiting fir us in the room. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed with huge comfy beds. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was very good and a lovely setting. Security at the hotel seemed very good. We would definitely stay there again if back in Nairobi - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Single woman traveling alone for research on first trip to Kenya and Nairobi felt safe and well cared for. Serena is central to everything and staff was amazing - courteous, caring and met all my needs. This is not budget, but nothing in Nairobi is and I was happy to know I was safe. Amidst all the noise and traffic of the city, the hotel grounds were lovely - good thing since i never ventured out after dark.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

A wonderful hotel which offers a lovely atmosphere and great service. Things work seamlessly which is perfect for the business travel. The food is good and the gym facilities excellent. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed in this hotel over the Easter Week 2014. I had a business suit, which was really nice, albeit on the pricy side, but worth it.

The hotel is clean. Breakfast is varied and good. They have a nice sunny outdoor pool and a well equipped Gym.

Overall I found this hotel to be a real pleasure to stay in, trying hard as I can, I really can't find anything to fault this hotel on.

Room Tip: Go for the business or executive suit, a little bit more, but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.