We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in serena.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
“At home in serena.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

When we got there the door man welcomed us in a nicely, reception was quick and efficient. The room was just perfect.spacious, clean, fully equipped with a lovely private garden. Had lunch in the main restaurant and it was fabulous.There was a lot of choice on the buffet and everything was fresh and tasty.

In the evening we had drinks and bar snacks at Askum bar, although space outside is a little limited Matthew K. and his team went out of their way to accommodate us. Service was very good, food very scrumptious, and the cocktail perfect.

Breakfast had everything you could wish for,and the service was again perfect. If only other hotel chains in Kenya could offer such choice.

Overall, very good service, polite staff who understand the need for customer interaction and who always smile! Their uniforms are very smart, the security teams are very efficient, and not too obvious as they dress in suits, like many of the customers.

I would just like to mention Matthew, who could not do more to be helpful, polite and professional, he and his team made the stay feel so comfortable.

Good work all round, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Splash out for a garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    197
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
155
42
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly service, beautiful rooms and delicious meals and not the neatness of the entire facility. My functions at this hotel has NEVER been disappointing, I always long for the next function for me to attend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide roadwarrior
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very Clean, Attentive and friendly staff. well appointed,

Food and drink can be expensive, but there is plenty of choice, and it is well prepared and fresh.

One downside, the bar doesn't stay open late, and there is rarely evening entertainment if that is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the city. I.e. not obscured by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel has a very central location, which is quite comfortable; very pleasant and helpful staff. I was happy with the 2 swimming pools, water was clean! Gym with full equipment. Really enjoyed the food as well, great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is centrally located, with excellent décor. The staff is at your disposal and will go out of their way to assist you. The breakfast buffet was really good. The room was immaculate and the turn down service made me feel pampered. The spa was clean and the massage that I got was excellent.

What I liked was how the hotel blends in with the environment. You wake up to birds chirping. The gardens and flowers were well maintained and beautiful. The décor complimented the African culture and heritage.

The hotel is an oasis in the hustle bustle of Nairobi.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but I found it convenient to have the room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

There is ample space to have morning or evening walk. The hotel is centrally located. The business floor is spacious and can have good meetings. The breakfast has variety to chhose from. Food is also good.

Room Tip: Front side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Restaurant and bar staff are fantastic, really go out if their way to look after the guests. Gym fully equipped and not busy when i used it early evening. Plenty of areas for meetings, drinks and food. Breakfast great but a little disappointed with food in The Mandhari restaurant, just didn't quite hit the mark. Staff though fantastic. Hotel car sent to collect us was unacceptable due to zero aircon, journey from airport to hotel was bad due traffic, hour and half, so not best pleased when checking in all hot and bothered. Reception deducted the cost and laid on a free return transfer which made up somewhat, but would have preferred not to have melted in the car. My main concern was security- we followed 2 cars into the hotel car park and these cars were allowed in without any checks, we were subject to the normal mirror under the car and boot checks. When we questioned the lack of checks to the 2 cars before us, we were informed that as they were UN cars they did not check them? I feel this is unacceptable and a huge gap in security, one that could be used to devastating effect. When I pointed out the recent attack at the Serena Kabul, the security guys just looked away without fully understanding that terrorists can be anywhere.

Room Tip: Had 3rd floor garden view which was quiet, comfortable and decent aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.