We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five star african style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Cologne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“five star african style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in Serena as our stopover before visiting the Masai Mara. We stayed two nights then came back and stayed for one night on our way home.

The Serena is not an Intercontinental hotel with marble floors, modern furnishings, and huge empty space rooms, this is the African way of a 5 star hotel and we liked it! If you like the homey feel, comfortable setting, clean rooms, and great staff, then stay here.

The staff was always helpful when I asked questions. The rooms were cleaned nicely when we returned.The restaurant, the spa and the breakfast buffet was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    174
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
144
39
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Beautiful oasis just in the middle of busy Nairobi.

Very comfortable rooms (although aircon in crap - this is the only thing I could complain about).

Nice outside pool, lush garden and several dining options.

Friendly staff at the hotel.

Excellent location just in the center of Nairobi.

Last time I stayed at this hotel was several years back - it has not changed much (which is good).

I would truly recommend for business or leasure travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Serena on business. I liked it - pleasant rooms and bar and restaurant areas where it is possible to sit outside and enjoy the climate at any time of day. Lots of options for places to sit and have a drink or hold an informal business discussion. There is a pool in the gardens and it doesn't feel like you are right in the city - given that it is near the downtown area. About 20 minutes from the airport (if you arrive out of the rush hours). Food in the a la carte restaurant upstairs is good and the breakfast buffet and evening informal dining were also good standard. Wifi was efficient too. Staff friendly and efficient.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbrdige
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Beautiful serene atmosphere, lovely outdoor pool and great restaurant. Staff are friendly and courteous although could be a little faster. There are plenty of comfortable communal areas and the situation of the hotel is easy for the airport and business connections.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heart of Herts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great hotel for a one or two night stop-over. Quite business-orientated but good range of facilities to suit all travellers. Lovely beds, very pleasant bar area & gardens, nice relaxing poolside with bar, decent currency exchange rates!

Room Tip: Cant say if any rooms better than others.. bathrooms getting a bit dated so maybe ask if any with re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Traveling to Nairobi is one of the joys of my current post, the Serena is one of my favourite hotels. Situated on the road to the Presidential Palace it boasts a wonderful garden setting within the heart of Nairobi. The hotel is built to human scale with two floors. At the centre of the hotel is a wonderful pool alongside a bar and a restaurant.

The rooms are clean and well kept up. TV and internet services are well provided for. I particularly enjoyed sleeping with the window open – just finding a hotel that has a window that opens is a rare treat these days. The food is good – but can be priced high. Wine selection is unimaginative and needs a rethink. I do recommend the local beer.

I used the car service from the hotel on short notice to get around – they are excellent, safe and waited for me during the day. All charges were added to my hotel account which was helpful.

It is the best place to stay, excellent place to convene meetings and host people. I would highly recommend the hotel, a step up from the Standly where I used to stay.

I paid about 230 USD per night for a king bed

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor with a garden view are nice... s
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Pros:
-felt familiar and comfortable--best rest I've had in Nairobi;
-nice set up in the room to do work on a laptop;
-staff are faultless--professional, experienced, friendly;
-restaurant has outstanding food;
-loved the USA Times under the door every morning.

Cons:
-location is a little far if you have US embassy or UN work to do;
-traffic in and out can be hectic most of the day;
-can't easily walk anywhere--again location;

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.