We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel in convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Serena on business. I liked it - pleasant rooms and bar and restaurant areas where it is possible to sit outside and enjoy the climate at any time of day. Lots of options for places to sit and have a drink or hold an informal business discussion. There is a pool in the gardens and it doesn't feel like you are right in the city - given that it is near the downtown area. About 20 minutes from the airport (if you arrive out of the rush hours). Food in the a la carte restaurant upstairs is good and the breakfast buffet and evening informal dining were also good standard. Wifi was efficient too. Staff friendly and efficient.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    175
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
144
39
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbrdige
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Beautiful serene atmosphere, lovely outdoor pool and great restaurant. Staff are friendly and courteous although could be a little faster. There are plenty of comfortable communal areas and the situation of the hotel is easy for the airport and business connections.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heart of Herts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great hotel for a one or two night stop-over. Quite business-orientated but good range of facilities to suit all travellers. Lovely beds, very pleasant bar area & gardens, nice relaxing poolside with bar, decent currency exchange rates!

Room Tip: Cant say if any rooms better than others.. bathrooms getting a bit dated so maybe ask if any with re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Traveling to Nairobi is one of the joys of my current post, the Serena is one of my favourite hotels. Situated on the road to the Presidential Palace it boasts a wonderful garden setting within the heart of Nairobi. The hotel is built to human scale with two floors. At the centre of the hotel is a wonderful pool alongside a bar and a restaurant.

The rooms are clean and well kept up. TV and internet services are well provided for. I particularly enjoyed sleeping with the window open – just finding a hotel that has a window that opens is a rare treat these days. The food is good – but can be priced high. Wine selection is unimaginative and needs a rethink. I do recommend the local beer.

I used the car service from the hotel on short notice to get around – they are excellent, safe and waited for me during the day. All charges were added to my hotel account which was helpful.

It is the best place to stay, excellent place to convene meetings and host people. I would highly recommend the hotel, a step up from the Standly where I used to stay.

I paid about 230 USD per night for a king bed

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor with a garden view are nice... s
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Pros:
-felt familiar and comfortable--best rest I've had in Nairobi;
-nice set up in the room to do work on a laptop;
-staff are faultless--professional, experienced, friendly;
-restaurant has outstanding food;
-loved the USA Times under the door every morning.

Cons:
-location is a little far if you have US embassy or UN work to do;
-traffic in and out can be hectic most of the day;
-can't easily walk anywhere--again location;

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is my 2nd nairobi serena review. My review is based on the restaurant as I didn't use the accommodation facilities. As usual the service was great, the food was fantastic, I still dream about the lemon chicken, entertainment was also good. My family and I had a blast and we cannot wait for end of year so as to sample the serena feast. We dine here during the December period and its now become a norm for the family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel was a first stop on a Safari vacation in Kenya and it was a great welcome to the country after 13hrs flying. The rooms were well appointed and I fell in love with the art work in the halls. I'd never considered the idea of framing mud cloths, soo cool. The beds were very comfortable and the room a very good size.
Wifi in the hotel is free but it can be a bit hinky to connect. The staff in the business center can set you up if you have a problem.
The hotel lobby is a bit dark but the restaurant, garden and bar area are great spaces to hang out.
And the buffet breakfast ... wow! I had limited expectations but it was a full on offering including an indian station.
A great start to an incredible holiday.

Room Tip: Request a room that backs unto the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.