We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay while in Nairobi. Excellent restaurant and bar. Great pool as well. Rooms are well maintained and well appointed. Service in all areas of the property is excellent. We had come in from a recent stay in Nakuru (Serova Lion Hill Lodge) which was quaint ( code for ' right out of the 50's ') so this was a nice treat. The area seems reasonably safe and there is some semblance of security on the premises which is comforting. Would be nice to have an ATM machine on the property but there's a bank across the street that has one if needed. A few little stores inside the hotel with incidentals makes it convenient if you forgot something.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    182
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
148
40
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is the perfect hotel in Nairobi. It's central n the front desk staff is very accomidating. Especially Faith and Helen. Faith took the time to find us a reseasonable flight to Mombasa n Kisumu. Amazing buffett there is a huge selection of items. The restaurant staff r always at your device. All the managers n severity guards are so polite. They go out of their way to make ur stay a memory. Laurence goes out of his way to make ur stay comfortable

The hotel itself is very well kept and has a moder touch to it. The ground and the heated swimming pool is very well maintained. The house keeping lady Mercey was the best house keeper I ever had she cleaned the room from top to bottom. The best part of the hotel is every nite there was someone to turn redo your bed so it's ready for u to slip rite in n fall asleep.

The gym is very well maintained with a big variety of equipment. The steam room n sauna is amazing

I would recommend this hotel also because of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Serena chain almost always pleases, and this is no exception. This is an excellent choice of hotel if one wants a secure environment within the City. Located within a very large, park-like area, the Nairobi Serena is fenced in with high security--and that security is needed.

Rooms are straight-forward and comfortable. The staff and service are excellent. The pool and nearby restaurant with pool service is a very nice offering.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before our safari and had a day room post safari before our flight home.

Hotel is a great business hotel - you could tell by the clientele in the restaurant and the bar. The rooms were nice. Security felt good though I don't know that I'd walk around outside the hotel compound after dark.

There is a very nice health club but note that you need to be 18 to enter. Our oldest son (17) got in no problem but our 15 year old son was denied and we could not get him in. I was told it was a private health club, not part of the hotel, but 18+ hotel guests are allowed guest privileges.

If I was travelling to Nairobi on business I would definitely stay here. If I was travelling on safari I would stay here again too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Serena in Baurobu for two nights and had a wonderful stay. The too
S were good though a little dated, but we equipped. Great toiletries, very good and attentive service. The buffet meals were really very good with amazing choice definitely 5 star. We have 3 children and they were well accommodated for, the staff were kind and nothing was a bother.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumee, oh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I did a week at the Serena, part of it with business associates along. Most of the time I ate at the hotel and made extensive use of their business center. On several occasions I had more than a few guests including government officials and security personnel.
We would have driven many other hotels "bonkers" but not the Serena.
Let's start with the rooms. My floor had staff available all the time. It was like coming home to a village. They would straighten my tie, pick up things in my room several times a day and generally keep track of me. These were good people.
The room was perfect and the housekeeping staff better.
The business center had IT staff available 24 hours a day. Everything worked perfectly.
Hotel staff in general were well trained, authoritative and highly professional. This is a very friendly hotel with a courteous staff. I got to know a number of hotel staff quite well.
The primary restaurant is an all day buffet, 3 meals with great food and seating in or outdoors including pool side.
Food is exceptional, service better. I used only one restaurant, which was more than enough. Fresh fruit, perfect espresso, anything you could desire.
Never order a steak in Kenya.
Hotel ground were beautiful and well maintained.
The hotel bar and meeting rooms are exceptional and well laid out.
Security is a big issue in Kenya and the hotel has a large but unobtrusive security staff.
Hotel supplies transporation and I almost always had a car or bus or something arranged on a moments notice.
If all of Kenya is like this hotel, Kenya is one of the friendliest nations on earth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, the rooms are a little dated but well equipped and the reception and bar areas are beautiful. There's also a very well stocked gift shop which sells some lovely handicrafts etc. Especially good breakfast (good coffee!) included in the room rate which you can have in your room or the downstairs restaurant. Considering its central location it's also very quiet here and the beds are comfy - I was here for 2 nights on business - and the free wifi was faster than lots of hotels in other countries so that was excellent. Only small criticism is that the service is a little hit and miss. It was excellent at times - the breakfast staff were superb - but the staff in the evening at Cafe Maghreb were less good, even a bit surly and the check out was ridiculously slow. I waited around 30 minutes to check out - there was one person on the check out desk at 7.30am when a lot of guests wanted to check out, and this meant I was late for my meeting that morning. Despite this would be very happy to stay again, actually want to go back to try the fine dining restaurant which I've heard great things about!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Nairobi Serena Hotel.

We have noted your valued feedback arising out of your stay with us dated 9th December 2013.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the delay in service in the restaurant and upon check out.

Management sincerely regrets the incidents and the inconveniences caused to you and remedial measures have been put in place to avert repeat of the same in the future

We look forward to being of utmost quality service and redeem ourselves in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Joyce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.