We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven Forbid, an Actually Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
maumee, oh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Heaven Forbid, an Actually Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I did a week at the Serena, part of it with business associates along. Most of the time I ate at the hotel and made extensive use of their business center. On several occasions I had more than a few guests including government officials and security personnel.
We would have driven many other hotels "bonkers" but not the Serena.
Let's start with the rooms. My floor had staff available all the time. It was like coming home to a village. They would straighten my tie, pick up things in my room several times a day and generally keep track of me. These were good people.
The room was perfect and the housekeeping staff better.
The business center had IT staff available 24 hours a day. Everything worked perfectly.
Hotel staff in general were well trained, authoritative and highly professional. This is a very friendly hotel with a courteous staff. I got to know a number of hotel staff quite well.
The primary restaurant is an all day buffet, 3 meals with great food and seating in or outdoors including pool side.
Food is exceptional, service better. I used only one restaurant, which was more than enough. Fresh fruit, perfect espresso, anything you could desire.
Never order a steak in Kenya.
Hotel ground were beautiful and well maintained.
The hotel bar and meeting rooms are exceptional and well laid out.
Security is a big issue in Kenya and the hotel has a large but unobtrusive security staff.
Hotel supplies transporation and I almost always had a car or bus or something arranged on a moments notice.
If all of Kenya is like this hotel, Kenya is one of the friendliest nations on earth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    195
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
61
154
42
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, the rooms are a little dated but well equipped and the reception and bar areas are beautiful. There's also a very well stocked gift shop which sells some lovely handicrafts etc. Especially good breakfast (good coffee!) included in the room rate which you can have in your room or the downstairs restaurant. Considering its central location it's also very quiet here and the beds are comfy - I was here for 2 nights on business - and the free wifi was faster than lots of hotels in other countries so that was excellent. Only small criticism is that the service is a little hit and miss. It was excellent at times - the breakfast staff were superb - but the staff in the evening at Cafe Maghreb were less good, even a bit surly and the check out was ridiculously slow. I waited around 30 minutes to check out - there was one person on the check out desk at 7.30am when a lot of guests wanted to check out, and this meant I was late for my meeting that morning. Despite this would be very happy to stay again, actually want to go back to try the fine dining restaurant which I've heard great things about!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Nairobi Serena Hotel.

We have noted your valued feedback arising out of your stay with us dated 9th December 2013.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the delay in service in the restaurant and upon check out.

Management sincerely regrets the incidents and the inconveniences caused to you and remedial measures have been put in place to avert repeat of the same in the future

We look forward to being of utmost quality service and redeem ourselves in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Joyce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spend one night in the Nairobi Serena lodge when we arrived in Kenya. It is a great place to start your holiday.

For us it was the second time that we started our holiday in this nice hotel.
The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, everything is clean and the rooms are nice and comfortable.

They have plenty of choice at breakfast with fresh fruit and juices
We will be back In this hotel the next time we will visit Kenya.

Chantal & Remi

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

its true what they say about the Mandhari Restaurant: exclusive fine dining experience.
The ambiance,attention to detail, the personalized service, the waiters are attentive and for sure hear what you say and surprisingly enough the second time there, they remembered my choice of wine and what food i like. as for the chef, the meals were just heavenly, i will definitely recommend for anyone looking for an exceptional dining experience

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great hotel with wonderful conference facilities. Getting there can be a nightmare during rush hour and sometimes parking is a problem. The location is so walking distance from the central business district which is big plus if interested in a stroll. Quiet and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

just returned from 11 day safari and we stayed at the serena for 4 days & 3 nights. what a stunning hotel! security very good - bags scanned, mirror under car etc. clean good lobby, lovely staff & quick check in. room had bottle of wine & fruit basket for free to invite you to the hotel. room large, large bed, safe, mini bar, telephone, toiletries (from the uk). our room also had iron & ironing board. bathroom very clean and over bath shower. buffet breakfast was huge and varied - you could eat what you wanted - ordered mushroom omlette from our table but there was croissant, sausage cereals - the full monty! main restaurant mandahari is 2* michelin chef but we never tried it. pool bar reasonable ie £12 for huge beefburger and we also had pepper steak with fries for £12. huge piece of steak! pool area clean and towels available there many people used it for it was a very clean pool. bottles of tusker were 375 kes (£3,00) at the aksum bar where you could sit outside even in the evening - it was november and you didnt need a jumper!! so good enough for us. when we went back for 1 day at the hotel after our safari my husband was surprised - the bar staff & the pool restaurant manager remembered us even after 8 days!! super staff!! would definately recommend and stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: need a beautiful hotel in nairobi = SERENA IS IT!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very nice hotel in the middle of Nairobi, high security within a beautiful garden setting. Security is important in Nairobi after the shopping mall tragedy. OUr initial accommodation was changed to this hotel due to their safety precautions. Room was very large with all amenities and nicely appointed. The complex has a good sized pool and several restaurants to choose from for dining. The staff were extremely polite and courteous and no request was too much trouble. We booked a driver and car for a day to show us around Nairobi and were not disappointed with the tour. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.