We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, the rooms are a little dated but well equipped and the reception and bar areas are beautiful. There's also a very well stocked gift shop which sells some lovely handicrafts etc. Especially good breakfast (good coffee!) included in the room rate which you can have in your room or the downstairs restaurant. Considering its central location it's also very quiet here and the beds are comfy - I was here for 2 nights on business - and the free wifi was faster than lots of hotels in other countries so that was excellent. Only small criticism is that the service is a little hit and miss. It was excellent at times - the breakfast staff were superb - but the staff in the evening at Cafe Maghreb were less good, even a bit surly and the check out was ridiculously slow. I waited around 30 minutes to check out - there was one person on the check out desk at 7.30am when a lot of guests wanted to check out, and this meant I was late for my meeting that morning. Despite this would be very happy to stay again, actually want to go back to try the fine dining restaurant which I've heard great things about!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Nairobi Serena Hotel.

We have noted your valued feedback arising out of your stay with us dated 9th December 2013.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the delay in service in the restaurant and upon check out.

Management sincerely regrets the incidents and the inconveniences caused to you and remedial measures have been put in place to avert repeat of the same in the future

We look forward to being of utmost quality service and redeem ourselves in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Joyce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    174
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
143
39
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spend one night in the Nairobi Serena lodge when we arrived in Kenya. It is a great place to start your holiday.

For us it was the second time that we started our holiday in this nice hotel.
The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, everything is clean and the rooms are nice and comfortable.

They have plenty of choice at breakfast with fresh fruit and juices
We will be back In this hotel the next time we will visit Kenya.

Chantal & Remi

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

its true what they say about the Mandhari Restaurant: exclusive fine dining experience.
The ambiance,attention to detail, the personalized service, the waiters are attentive and for sure hear what you say and surprisingly enough the second time there, they remembered my choice of wine and what food i like. as for the chef, the meals were just heavenly, i will definitely recommend for anyone looking for an exceptional dining experience

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great hotel with wonderful conference facilities. Getting there can be a nightmare during rush hour and sometimes parking is a problem. The location is so walking distance from the central business district which is big plus if interested in a stroll. Quiet and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

just returned from 11 day safari and we stayed at the serena for 4 days & 3 nights. what a stunning hotel! security very good - bags scanned, mirror under car etc. clean good lobby, lovely staff & quick check in. room had bottle of wine & fruit basket for free to invite you to the hotel. room large, large bed, safe, mini bar, telephone, toiletries (from the uk). our room also had iron & ironing board. bathroom very clean and over bath shower. buffet breakfast was huge and varied - you could eat what you wanted - ordered mushroom omlette from our table but there was croissant, sausage cereals - the full monty! main restaurant mandahari is 2* michelin chef but we never tried it. pool bar reasonable ie £12 for huge beefburger and we also had pepper steak with fries for £12. huge piece of steak! pool area clean and towels available there many people used it for it was a very clean pool. bottles of tusker were 375 kes (£3,00) at the aksum bar where you could sit outside even in the evening - it was november and you didnt need a jumper!! so good enough for us. when we went back for 1 day at the hotel after our safari my husband was surprised - the bar staff & the pool restaurant manager remembered us even after 8 days!! super staff!! would definately recommend and stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: need a beautiful hotel in nairobi = SERENA IS IT!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very nice hotel in the middle of Nairobi, high security within a beautiful garden setting. Security is important in Nairobi after the shopping mall tragedy. OUr initial accommodation was changed to this hotel due to their safety precautions. Room was very large with all amenities and nicely appointed. The complex has a good sized pool and several restaurants to choose from for dining. The staff were extremely polite and courteous and no request was too much trouble. We booked a driver and car for a day to show us around Nairobi and were not disappointed with the tour. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed for couple of nights in this hotel during my Kenya trip. The room was big and clean with firm bed. As per my booking, I got a room with the city view and they unlocked the window open immediately on my request. The room service was really quick.
Breakfast was the finest thing for me. Being I am from India, I was really surprised to see Indian food servings on both day in breakfast.

I will definitely stay in this hotel during my next visit!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.