We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dated city hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A dated city hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not too much to say, as we were only staying here for 5 hours overnight, before catching a connecting flight, but the reception/bar area smelled of smoke. The corridors and rooms reminded me of a dated Hilton hotel. Standard double room and tiny bathroom with cracked sink and tiny bath. Underwhelming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to patronize Nairobi Serena Hotel.

We have noted your valued comments arising out of your short stay dated 13th November 2013.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.

Going forward the hotel recognizes the need to upgrade our guest products and attention will be paid to the areas of concern.

Kindly note that management’s objective continues to be consistent delivery of professional service by ensuring that guests’ expectations are exceeded and giving value for money.

With Kind Regards

Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    181
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
147
40
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

At the entrance of the door security check with bags' x-ray. The style of the reception hall in a very traditional african manner and nothing is too much here. We were taken into the room immideately after check-in, but no room with double bed was available for the moment. We were promised to get the room after noon. The promise was fullfilled and we were even upgraded to garden suite. Very comfortable and spatious rooms. Big and nice bathroom. We enjoyed staying there. Very delicious breakfast with a good variety of food for any taste. Friendly and helpfull staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great decor,swahili themed woodwork is AMAZING.
Excellent suite/Rooms setting amidst the busy Nairobi traffic-couldn't hear any noise! Very good attention to client needs and great amenities,I especially liked the provision of ironing facilites in the suite. I forgot some of my documents n the room and was pleasantly surprised to find them intact a few weeks later....WELL DONE NAIROBI SERENA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed on business at Serena for 5 nights. Excellent service in everyway. Very regal and lush. Lovely rooms. Sounds of tree frogs in the evenings. Delicious food. Loved it. I can imaginea great place for the start or end of a holiday. I will be back and tagging some chill time onto it to get an even better experience next time!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel and grounds. Great Staff. Often had a security guard sitting outside of our floor at elevator. We felt their presence and felt very safe. Hotel room, great and well appointed. Towels luscious and large, Staff brought a vase of flowers to our room with a basket of fruit and a rose for our bathroom. Flat screen TV. Very big safe, large enough for our cameras. mini bar , reasonable prices. King size bed and very comfortable.
Elevator could be temperamental but fine. Good shops in lobby although a bit pricy.
Large heated pool with great seating area. restaurant terrific and had table close to the pool for evening meal. quite nice. food wise, all food in Africa is OK but in our opinion not fantastic. certainly not a country for steaks. Service was good. Buffet very good. In Africa, everywhere we went tipping is expected and solicited. Had a mistake with our wake up call, which was not good. they called 1 hour too early. called at 5 instead of 6:30. Check in could have been better. not good attention. was servicing us then started to serve another who came after us. we had to wait, then he came back to us. we don't like that. expect individual attention not a group check in feeling.. Great porters and bellman.
Grounds really lovely. There was a weddign going on when we were there ( or at least takign pictures). there is a pond with very small frogs and a lovely bridge. the trees and birds were great

Room Tip: We had view of the gardens and pool, feel that is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Seems like you are taken back in time ... from the door man that brings you a hot towel, to the beautifully carved letter opener you find in your room in the large oak desk.

Staff was great, room was great. We didn't do any walking around on our own and opted for the organized tours but it seemed that the location was good for everything.

Would definitely go back if I have the chance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is in the heart of Nairobi. The hotel seems a bit old, but it's still very regal and clean... the bathrooms have marble and the furniture is made of good quality wood. I came here in December of 2012 and it was still warm enough to go to the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.