We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great decor,swahili themed woodwork is AMAZING.
Excellent suite/Rooms setting amidst the busy Nairobi traffic-couldn't hear any noise! Very good attention to client needs and great amenities,I especially liked the provision of ironing facilites in the suite. I forgot some of my documents n the room and was pleasantly surprised to find them intact a few weeks later....WELL DONE NAIROBI SERENA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    175
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
144
39
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed on business at Serena for 5 nights. Excellent service in everyway. Very regal and lush. Lovely rooms. Sounds of tree frogs in the evenings. Delicious food. Loved it. I can imaginea great place for the start or end of a holiday. I will be back and tagging some chill time onto it to get an even better experience next time!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel and grounds. Great Staff. Often had a security guard sitting outside of our floor at elevator. We felt their presence and felt very safe. Hotel room, great and well appointed. Towels luscious and large, Staff brought a vase of flowers to our room with a basket of fruit and a rose for our bathroom. Flat screen TV. Very big safe, large enough for our cameras. mini bar , reasonable prices. King size bed and very comfortable.
Elevator could be temperamental but fine. Good shops in lobby although a bit pricy.
Large heated pool with great seating area. restaurant terrific and had table close to the pool for evening meal. quite nice. food wise, all food in Africa is OK but in our opinion not fantastic. certainly not a country for steaks. Service was good. Buffet very good. In Africa, everywhere we went tipping is expected and solicited. Had a mistake with our wake up call, which was not good. they called 1 hour too early. called at 5 instead of 6:30. Check in could have been better. not good attention. was servicing us then started to serve another who came after us. we had to wait, then he came back to us. we don't like that. expect individual attention not a group check in feeling.. Great porters and bellman.
Grounds really lovely. There was a weddign going on when we were there ( or at least takign pictures). there is a pond with very small frogs and a lovely bridge. the trees and birds were great

Room Tip: We had view of the gardens and pool, feel that is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Seems like you are taken back in time ... from the door man that brings you a hot towel, to the beautifully carved letter opener you find in your room in the large oak desk.

Staff was great, room was great. We didn't do any walking around on our own and opted for the organized tours but it seemed that the location was good for everything.

Would definitely go back if I have the chance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is in the heart of Nairobi. The hotel seems a bit old, but it's still very regal and clean... the bathrooms have marble and the furniture is made of good quality wood. I came here in December of 2012 and it was still warm enough to go to the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OKlahoma, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our experience at this wonderful hotel, in September 2013, was nothing short of wonderful! The service was simply outstanding --- there was nothing they would not do for us to make us happy, and were constantly anticipating our needs and wants! When calling Housekeeping for ice, for example, there was a knock on the door within less than 5 minutes! When I asked for a softer mattress because the one in the room was extremely firm and uncomfortable for me, no fewer than three uniformed young men arrived with a new one, and remade it as I stood there watching! I will review the spectacular restaurant in the Restaurant Reviews section, but suffice it to say that the breakfast buffet was the most lavish and opulent I've ever seen (and I've seen some of the best in the world!), and the food at all meals was, without exception, perfectly cooked, beautifully served, and absolutely delicious! I would recommend this hotel to any discerning traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the hotel's gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Each our visit to Serena Restaurant proves that is i an excellent place for meal, romantic date or dinner with friends. À la carte we did not really inspect because there was a sea food buffet on all those night when we were out. The choice is great, they even have sushi, but you can find lots of vegetables and some non sea food (beef, some chicken). No music. It can be very crowded and busy place but generally it is nice and comfortable. The prices are on the high end, but going out here is an occasional treat for us. The restaurant is next to the pool, the smokers have a separated piece of lawn for themselves. The weird sound you can here every night is frogs, not birds - they have a small pool with water lilies, fish, frogs...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.