We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location & Regal Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Offer (Fri - Sun)
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Central Location & Regal Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is in the heart of Nairobi. The hotel seems a bit old, but it's still very regal and clean... the bathrooms have marble and the furniture is made of good quality wood. I came here in December of 2012 and it was still warm enough to go to the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryseasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Norman, OKlahoma, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our experience at this wonderful hotel, in September 2013, was nothing short of wonderful! The service was simply outstanding --- there was nothing they would not do for us to make us happy, and were constantly anticipating our needs and wants! When calling Housekeeping for ice, for example, there was a knock on the door within less than 5 minutes! When I asked for a softer mattress because the one in the room was extremely firm and uncomfortable for me, no fewer than three uniformed young men arrived with a new one, and remade it as I stood there watching! I will review the spectacular restaurant in the Restaurant Reviews section, but suffice it to say that the breakfast buffet was the most lavish and opulent I've ever seen (and I've seen some of the best in the world!), and the food at all meals was, without exception, perfectly cooked, beautifully served, and absolutely delicious! I would recommend this hotel to any discerning traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the hotel's gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjo22000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Each our visit to Serena Restaurant proves that is i an excellent place for meal, romantic date or dinner with friends. À la carte we did not really inspect because there was a sea food buffet on all those night when we were out. The choice is great, they even have sushi, but you can find lots of vegetables and some non sea food (beef, some chicken). No music. It can be very crowded and busy place but generally it is nice and comfortable. The prices are on the high end, but going out here is an occasional treat for us. The restaurant is next to the pool, the smokers have a separated piece of lawn for themselves. The weird sound you can here every night is frogs, not birds - they have a small pool with water lilies, fish, frogs...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I staid for one night at the hotel ready for our Safari the next morning. The room was excellent, bed was heavenly, and the food was first class. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. If you smile at the staff, they will smile back. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Serena Nairobi before we left on Safari and a day when we returned to Nairobi
The rooms were comfortable standard with the usual hotel amenities however they had Penhaligon shampoo, etc. very nice! The service in the restaurants was lacking, very slow--for our lunch we waited an hour to get our food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiejodenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a great hotel all the way around. The food, the staff, the rooms were all five star. The desk was helpful with places to eat, changing money and arranging transportation. I will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the fitness center, one of my colleagues said it got a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed just one night en route from safari to Mauritius. We were looked after very well and were upgraded to a garden suite, which was huge. The hotel was lovely and the guests were a good mix, though looked mainly to be there on business but guess that the location dictates that.

We ate in Cafe Maghreb, which was lovely and not too expensive for a capital city hotel of this scale. The poolside setting on a lovely warm evening was very pleasant indeed.

Room Tip: Although it's close to a main road we didn't notice much noise nor did we notice much noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#12 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing