We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An awesome stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a great hotel all the way around. The food, the staff, the rooms were all five star. The desk was helpful with places to eat, changing money and arranging transportation. I will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the fitness center, one of my colleagues said it got a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    163
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
55
141
37
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed just one night en route from safari to Mauritius. We were looked after very well and were upgraded to a garden suite, which was huge. The hotel was lovely and the guests were a good mix, though looked mainly to be there on business but guess that the location dictates that.

We ate in Cafe Maghreb, which was lovely and not too expensive for a capital city hotel of this scale. The poolside setting on a lovely warm evening was very pleasant indeed.

Room Tip: Although it's close to a main road we didn't notice much noise nor did we notice much noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Serena Nairobi for 2 nights, one because we arrived in Nairobi very late one night and one because we wanted to explore Nairobi a bit before heading out to safari. Yes, it is expensive, but we had a very spacious suite, with a great sitting room and a beautiful bedroom. Everything worked - beds were comfortable, lights worked, internet was fine. We ate breakfast in the dining room and found the service a little slow but still acceptable. I'd recommend the crepes- good toppings, crepes made fresh. We were exhausted our second night and ordered room service, which was fine and quick. My only quibble- I was quite surprised that the shower had mold along the grout, not hard to fix with a little bleach (the room and the bathroom itself were both very clean) and the staff were very apologetic and embarrassed when told, so the problem may well be resolved. It is an easy walk into town. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We used this hotel as our stopover hotel between visiting Nairobi, the Masai Mara, and Rwanda. I was a bit concerned after reading some of the previous reviews. We had rooms 501 and 317.
We stayed three nights then came back and stayed for one night on our way home.

My husband and I travel quite a bit for scuba diving. As we have traveled more and more, I tend to try to book us at hotels that have a higher level of comfort, but not extreme. I do not need to have the "Taj Majal" look or feel to feel "pampered". If you are used to rooming in Intercontinental hotels with marble floors, modern furnishings, and huge empty space rooms, this is NOT the hotel for you. If you like the homey feel, comfortable setting, clean rooms, and great staff, then stay here.

Yes, its an older hotel, but I did not feel that that I did not get my monies worth. There was more than sufficient room for us and our luggage. There was enough dresser space and closet space for clothes taken out for our first three days. The furnishings and décor had a "homey" feeling. The bed was close to the size of our king sized bed at home, a bit hard for us. That's not their fault. The air conditioning unit was a bit loud, but it's like background noise; overtime you ignore it.

The breakfast buffet was great. Unless you are really picky about your food, there was food for anyone's palate. Fresh fruit, baked breads, crepes to order, local breakfast foods, omelets to order, juices, coffee, oatmeal, yogurt, etc. We got the room package that had the buffet included.

The staff was always helpful when I asked questions. The rooms were cleaned nicely when we returned.

AS to location, I could not answer that. We had a private driver that picked us up and took us out.
They had a spa, but we did not use it. Had other things to occupy our time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Serena Hotel is probably one of the more convenient hotels to stay while in Nairobi.
The hotel is conveniently located, if you just got off the plane in Kenyatta Airport (which is around 40 minutes away) unless you hit rush hour traffic.

The hotel is also suitable for business meetings, with nice lobby waiting area plus a very quiet business lounge area for a good private business meeting. The coffee house is located on the ground floor, and serves good breakfast buffet spread. There is also a nice outdoor area with view of the swimming pool, nice for cool mornings or late afternoons.

But this hotel with its overall wood finishing needs a bit of an upgrade. The rooms are rather cramp, with old airconditioning and very tight shower/tub.

Room Tip: Good for a short stay, great convenient leap off point for a safari trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Useful stopover for late arrivers being near airport (but on reflection maybe we should have just taken a night flight and connected direct). A plus is as it backs on to a game park you can get your first glimpses of Giraffe & Zebra.
In design and function its a classic city 4 star hotel that you'd find worldwide. But we did find the restaurant staff inattentive - I had to leave my table to ask for menus, then I walked up to place an order and to pay. In contrast concierge & reception were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah,WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Serena is your typical comfortable hotel. Situated across a park from the central business district, it is convenient if you want to go into town but difficult with traffic especially in the mornings and evenings. We stayed one night en route to Samburu and I felt safe enough in the morning to walk around the nearby streets and the park, but was advised not to venture too far into another section of the park. The room we had was a fairly typical hotel style, clean, good beds, tv, internet etc. Ours was a bit noisy since we were at the end of the fourth floor where the airconditioning plant was whirring away all night, although I still slept well.
They have comfortable lounge and bar areas downstairs, with efficient staff for reservations, currency exchange etc. They take security seriously, with under-car inspections and metal detectors at the doors. The main restaurant was excellent. We had a marvellous meal there with great service and some fine piano playing for entertainment although it wasn't busy. The breakfast cafe also had a fine range of well-prepared dishes.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.