We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit below expectation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit below expectation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Being advertised as the bet hotel in Nairobi I expected slightly more on everything. However I guess this is quite a lixury in Africa. For tge price you pay you would expect more - cleaner room, more welcoming staff...
Overall it was nothing special however I guess still the best in Nairobi

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    209
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
68
160
43
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Serena is comfortable and friendly. However, the service in the restaurant is quite patchy: misplaced orders, very slow.
And it's awfully expensive.
Location just outside the main city centre is good - a pleasant walk, safe by day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Front Office Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review dated September 4, 2013

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the lapse in service delivery that you experienced when you visited our restaurant. Be rest assured that this is perhaps an isolated incidents which we will look into in more detail.

Management sincerely apologize for the slow service, misplaced food order and frustrations that you had endure and wish to assure you that remedial action has been taken to curb such situations never to happen again in future to you or any other guest.

It is Management’s objective to provide consistent professional service delivery ensuring guests’ expectations are meet and given value for their money. We hope and trust that we shall get an opportunity to be of service to you again in future.

Meanwhile, we once again sincerely regret the inconveniences caused and thank you for your understanding and cooperation. Assuring you of our continued high standards of service delivery at all times.

Regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a long flight from Sydney via Perth and Johannesburg it was an absolute delight to arrive and be met by friendly obliging staff. Room was huge and lovely huge bathroom with bath. Great breakfast and dinner. Excellent room service I was certainly relaxed and refreshed to start my safari

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night stop over in between safari and a week in Zanzibar and we were pleasently surprised by the hotel. A bottle of sparkling wine was delivered to our room as a honeymoon surprise along with the bed covered in petals!
The real surprise was the restaurant where we had an excellent silver service dinner (the restaurant itself was very quiet perhaps because it was a little expensive but worth it). All in all a quick but lovely stop over.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Nairobi Serena is a really good choice, when staying in the city for business or pleasure. I have stayed for both reasons and find the hotel well appointed and even better than my previous stays, a couple of years ago and over the previous decade, on several occasions. In my opinion, it is certainly the best of Nairobi's standard luxury hotels, having also stayed at others, including The Norfolk etc. There are, of course, the more unique, but they come at a substantial premium ie House of Waine, Giraffe Manor etc.
Food and service are also good and there is the choice of two restaurants and eating poolside.
The bar is ok, but do be prepared to be assailed by several large TV screens, each showing a different sport! At the same time , loud music plays for the clubbing types.
Rooms are of a good standard, not quite 5 star, more business 4 star style. I would certainly stay again, for pleasure or business, but do not wander out at night for a walk, it is not the best area after dark, when away from the security staff.

Room Tip: Rear of the Hotel looks over the pool are, with nice city/park views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely property twice this month. Once when I came into Nairobi for the Migration tour and once again at the end of the tour before returning home.

Very nice and decent hotel. Good rooms, very good and homely service not only at the reception but even in restaurants and room service. Overall I loved my stay there. The breakfast is also very good and the spread was good as well. Surely will come and stay again when ever I come to Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Smooth pick up from airport, wifi in hotel bus and a swift and smooth check in by Joyce K. The Serena seems to have realigned its service standard to be in line with the high rates it charges. Which is good news. Would like to make special mention of Joyce K - who is a smart lady and based on the way she operates at reception should be made Head Receptionist.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.