We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Great hotel. Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location. Great hotel. Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a long flight from Sydney via Perth and Johannesburg it was an absolute delight to arrive and be met by friendly obliging staff. Room was huge and lovely huge bathroom with bath. Great breakfast and dinner. Excellent room service I was certainly relaxed and refreshed to start my safari

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    231
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
74
167
45
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night stop over in between safari and a week in Zanzibar and we were pleasently surprised by the hotel. A bottle of sparkling wine was delivered to our room as a honeymoon surprise along with the bed covered in petals!
The real surprise was the restaurant where we had an excellent silver service dinner (the restaurant itself was very quiet perhaps because it was a little expensive but worth it). All in all a quick but lovely stop over.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Nairobi Serena is a really good choice, when staying in the city for business or pleasure. I have stayed for both reasons and find the hotel well appointed and even better than my previous stays, a couple of years ago and over the previous decade, on several occasions. In my opinion, it is certainly the best of Nairobi's standard luxury hotels, having also stayed at others, including The Norfolk etc. There are, of course, the more unique, but they come at a substantial premium ie House of Waine, Giraffe Manor etc.
Food and service are also good and there is the choice of two restaurants and eating poolside.
The bar is ok, but do be prepared to be assailed by several large TV screens, each showing a different sport! At the same time , loud music plays for the clubbing types.
Rooms are of a good standard, not quite 5 star, more business 4 star style. I would certainly stay again, for pleasure or business, but do not wander out at night for a walk, it is not the best area after dark, when away from the security staff.

Room Tip: Rear of the Hotel looks over the pool are, with nice city/park views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely property twice this month. Once when I came into Nairobi for the Migration tour and once again at the end of the tour before returning home.

Very nice and decent hotel. Good rooms, very good and homely service not only at the reception but even in restaurants and room service. Overall I loved my stay there. The breakfast is also very good and the spread was good as well. Surely will come and stay again when ever I come to Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Smooth pick up from airport, wifi in hotel bus and a swift and smooth check in by Joyce K. The Serena seems to have realigned its service standard to be in line with the high rates it charges. Which is good news. Would like to make special mention of Joyce K - who is a smart lady and based on the way she operates at reception should be made Head Receptionist.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I used to love this Hotel and it used to be our National Glory for many years. unfortunately there was nothing glorious about my experience on Saturday morning. We had a meeting at the pool side, but decided to stay at the outdoor smoking area instead as everyone else was smoking. My first disappointment was at the scanning machine outside the entrance: my handbag was out of site for some good 5 minutes since it is located away form the entrance that we are all forced to use - again under a scanner. I requested the reception to call the manager on duty to report the inconvenience, nobody showed up even an hour later. Getting to the meeting ... we had this waitress asking for the order without supplying a menu. We requested for the menu and we were given, reluctantly, the alcoholic drinks menu and the lunch menu - it was 11 am....so i once again called her back to request for the hot beverage menu and she confirmed they have one but she did not bring it.needless to say that i did not order a thing. To top it all up one of the other business partners at the table left half cigar on the ashtray, as he stood up to take a call, and the same waitress decided to take it away together with the dirty ashtray. all in all the place was full of tourist, they probably had a better experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice hotel with good location. The lobby itself welcomes u to the wild life in kenya. its tastefully done with a sitting area overlooking a made-up forest environment. The rooms are nice and have a good view. It was nice to see few of the famous birds of kenya in the lawn .
The restaurant is nice and serve a good spread . Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.