We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. Gives u a Colonial feel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel. Gives u a Colonial feel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It's a nice hotel with good location. The lobby itself welcomes u to the wild life in kenya. its tastefully done with a sitting area overlooking a made-up forest environment. The rooms are nice and have a good view. It was nice to see few of the famous birds of kenya in the lawn .
The restaurant is nice and serve a good spread . Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    181
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
147
40
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Top class Serena Hotel with welcoming staff, very comfortable room with excellent facilities. Delicious breakfast, great ambience in the hotel which is after all a city hotel but with a very friendly atmosphere amid surroundings which keep the essence of Kenya with modern appeal. I much prefer this sort of hotel than those which try to be ultra modern and one could be anywhere in the world. I was in Kenya, East Africa, and the Serena proudly upheld its roots. Thank you for a very pleasant, if too short, stay. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were held up by the Nairobi airport fire for 5 days, having been staying in Zanzibar. For our two final days before we got a flight, our agent booked us into Serena. We were impressed by the helpfulness of the staff who assisted us in sorting our delay out. The pool area is lovely, so peaceful with sunbeds with mattresses and towels provided ready for you to relax. Two parks nearby to take a walk.. The restaurant was amazing, so much choice and the puddings were to die for!! We sampled 'fish night' and 'Swahili night', they were brilliant. Staff recommended a half day out to the National Park, well worth it to see giraffe, zebra, buffalo, croc and many more. Loved the bed made for 3 as well!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed only one night at the Serena and found it to be comfortable. Although not the most modern, the hotel’s common areas and rooms were spacious, the lobby was welcoming and the check-in/out was efficient.

The hotel is located in a central government office area, away from the Nairobi downtown ‘party zone’. We had cocktails at Aksum bar, which were very nice. The breakfast was a varied spread by the pool on a lovely day.

I am not sure if this would be is a 5 star property elsewhere, but overall we had a comfortable night and would recommend this for transit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Only stayed one night prior to safari.

Both reassuring and off-putting to hav your tour vehicle searched underneath with mirrors for bombs on arrival and then have your luggage and yourself scanned... that's a first for us!

Room was fine..standard city hotel room. Bathroom a bit tired but acceptable. Grateful to be able to have the room from 9am when we arrived exhausted from overnight flight. Bed very comfortable.

We only had drinks by the pool later in the day and then room service in the evening -all very good. Breakfast next morning was very good.

Checkout-bizarrely charged us several thousand shillings more than they should have. When we noticed and challenged it, they just shrugged their shoulders and corrected the bill! Were they trying it on or not as the bill was nothing like it should have been?BEWARE!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been staying at the Serena for many years on business trips. It's comfortable and spacious, but the rooms are tired (and I was in a refurbished one!). The lights could only be turned off at the door as the bedside switches were broken; The clothes cupboard door slid open on it's own accord which activated the in cupboard light at all hours of the night. Breakfast was reasonable but eggs had to be ordered from the kitchen which took a long time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Nairobi Serena is located in the heart of the city, with decent rooms.

The hotel is well done up, with decent lobby.
However the age of the hotel shows in the rooms as well as the elevators, which are a bit old fashioned.

We ate dinner at the Maghreb Restaurant, which served average food.

Recommended as a business hotel, and not as a holiday destination.

Room Tip: Air Conditioning is a problem in many rooms. Make sure you choose a room in which the air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.