We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your invoice carefully!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Check your invoice carefully!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Only stayed one night prior to safari.

Both reassuring and off-putting to hav your tour vehicle searched underneath with mirrors for bombs on arrival and then have your luggage and yourself scanned... that's a first for us!

Room was fine..standard city hotel room. Bathroom a bit tired but acceptable. Grateful to be able to have the room from 9am when we arrived exhausted from overnight flight. Bed very comfortable.

We only had drinks by the pool later in the day and then room service in the evening -all very good. Breakfast next morning was very good.

Checkout-bizarrely charged us several thousand shillings more than they should have. When we noticed and challenged it, they just shrugged their shoulders and corrected the bill! Were they trying it on or not as the bill was nothing like it should have been?BEWARE!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    227
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
73
166
44
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been staying at the Serena for many years on business trips. It's comfortable and spacious, but the rooms are tired (and I was in a refurbished one!). The lights could only be turned off at the door as the bedside switches were broken; The clothes cupboard door slid open on it's own accord which activated the in cupboard light at all hours of the night. Breakfast was reasonable but eggs had to be ordered from the kitchen which took a long time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Nairobi Serena is located in the heart of the city, with decent rooms.

The hotel is well done up, with decent lobby.
However the age of the hotel shows in the rooms as well as the elevators, which are a bit old fashioned.

We ate dinner at the Maghreb Restaurant, which served average food.

Recommended as a business hotel, and not as a holiday destination.

Room Tip: Air Conditioning is a problem in many rooms. Make sure you choose a room in which the air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Cannot say enough lovely things about this hotel - everything about the service was incredible. We ahd a lovely visit. The restaurants had excellent food, the spa was a great place to visit. The woman working in the spa's locker room helped us blowdry our hair, was really kind... our room was well appointed, and very reasonably priced. The shower was great ( though after days on safari, we put it through its paces). Our driver didn't show up as scheduled one day so the doorman arranged for us to be escorted and taken around and returned to the hotel, he negotiated a great price for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Outside of South Africa, Africa is certainly not known for good service in hotels. It can be friendly but it's never very professional nor is it efficient.

Such is not the case at the Serena where the staff is not only nice but they are professional and efficient. When somebody tells you now, it means now and not the African next hour! This compliment applies to all departments, so a lot of congratulations to the management as it must not easy to train staff that way on the continent were it's unknown, and where by the way there are no proper hotel diplomas.

In addition the rooms are nice even if somewhat small, nicely furnished, beds are comfortable, bathrooms in perfect working condition and very clean with possibly the best amenities one could dream about; if I had one complaint, a small one, I would say that the TV sets and the quality of reception could both be improved.

I had a couple of small issues, the details being uninteresting here, and I would like to point out that one of the duty managers, a gentleman named Simon Kiberenge, proved to be so efficient and at the same time so extremely courteous that I couldn't believe I was in Africa, I thought I was in Thailand the country of the best hotel service in the world.

As for the food, the buffets be it breakfasts or main meals are very good and nicely presented; I would not be quite as enthusiastic with more sophisticated courses which if nicely presented are too often somewhat tasteless. But service in both restaurants is as usual in this hotel absolutely perfect. Having stayed a few days I had the opportunity to meet one of the F&B managers, David Shitaka, who was also a true professional: what a pleasure for somebody like me always on the road!

As any reader will have understood, I will be a return client.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Aksum bar at Nairobi Serena hosts a Whisky and Jazz night every last Thursday of the month. I went for the June do and it was awesome !


The set up was just right, cozy and chilled out with very decent crowd. You have the option of the high bar seats, though they seem to always be full, or lounge chairs which are right next to the make shift stage.


They have lots of Jack Daniels cocktails and shooters on offer and they are fairly priced.


Isaiah Katumwa played on the said night and he was fantastic. He even got people dancing, whichever little space they could find !


Try and get in early if you can, it gets packed and finding seating space maybe a challenge. Kicks off at 7.30pm and wraps up 10pm, though Isaiah was persuaded to play a wee bit longer :-)


If the last Thursday of any given month finds you this side of the Sahara, you know exactly where your evening needs to start :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were here for just one night, but it was a very nice hotel. The rooms were comfortable. We got there late, and had to leave for a 8am flight for our safari, so we didnt get to hit up the pool, but I did look at it and it looked nice. The breakfast buffet was amazing, lots of variety, many different juice selections (including mango juice). I had some eggs with smoked salmon, it was really good, along with bacon and toast and waffles and fruit and hash browns... so many options...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.