We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old glory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Old glory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First trip to Nairobi and the hotel was picked to be close to my business appointments. Good choice though. Hotel itself was warm and welcoming. Staff very friendly and courteous. Rooms were a little tired but I had a good nights sleep, and a decent hot shower.
Breakfast was good. Pancakes should just be pancakes, right?, but these were just mouthwateringly good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    223
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
71
162
44
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Not your normal glitzy hotel - instead you get loads of character. Lovely room - good ac, comfy bed and OK shower. The bar is excellent - great selection of local beers and snacks. The pool was lovely (and cool) after a hard days work. The restaurant had a good selection of food, especially at breakfast and on buffet days. The bread was disappointing. Try the excellent Kenyan coffee and tea. Friendly staff. Lots of security.

Room Tip: High floor with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had a meeting in Nairobi and my husband and I decided to make it into a holiday. I had never before stayed with any Serena property. I entrusted them with our itinerary, and they did not disappoint. We had a stunning room laden with flowers. Someone must have overheard when I mentioned how much I loved the orange roses, because the next day, I had two bouquets. The decor is lovely and comfortable. The breakfast, menu an buffet, great deal and plentiful. Everything was fresh and delicious. Eating poolside, one can tell that this is business-lunch central. At night, the restaurant was delicious. We enjoyed a lovely dinner. Best..the service at the hotel was exemplary. Concierge arranged our entire two week itinerary. We stayed with Serena at three properties. Would have been 4, but we had to cancel Mombasa. A wonderful property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Was there for business. The food was good and prompt. The service was warm and efficient. It was a packed house but they were quite effective! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The surroundings were pretty serene. It being so close to the CBD it was quite a good shock.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at Serena in May. Close to 40 years since my last visit. I enjoyed it as much this time as then. Serena is still charming.

My room was modern and kept clean.

Restaurants offer good value. Breakfast is excellent.

Staff in reception and in the restaurant provide excellent service.

Internett worked fine in the room and in the reception.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Eventhough this Hotel is located in a park in the middle of the city it feels a bit like being in a safari lodge. Decor is african-style but somewhat oldfashioned... Service is good, staff were very helpful, attentive and willing to help with everything. I was very happy about that... My room was reasonably spacious, bathroom rather small. Nice bar and a very pleasant seating area in the garden by the pool. It looked like parts of the hotel were undergoing renovation during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Serena feels like a safari lodge that somehow ended up in a park in the middle of the city. If you're interested in being in "Africa", and being reminded of that constantly, this is your hotel. It is not, however, a modern luxury hotel full of glass and sleek modern design - for that look elsewhere.

That said, the service is very good - attentive, always present, and willing to help with everything. The rooms themselves are reasonably spacious, though the bathrooms are very cramped.

Food is the high point - a very good breakfast buffet, a lovely upstairs restaurant, and a very pleasant seating area by the pool. The gym is exceptional for my US-influenced experience - a real weights facility and wood-floored studio, right next to the aforementioned pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.