We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great breakfast buffet for all ages and tastes
Very clean room, quiet and all amenities --minus Qtip.
Love the atmosphere, you feel very welcome from the start.
Security at the front of the hotel securing entries of vehicles and making sure only guests are coming in.
Would recommend it to anyone visiting Nairobi. Great staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    225
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
73
165
44
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A great way to spend one's first night in Africa.

We arrived late and left early, but they picked us up at the airport and dep[osited us back there very efficiently.

Food (breakfast) very good indeed.

It is on the edge of the National Park, so propbably wirth spending an extra day there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I go back to the Serena every time I need to go to Nairobi. The location is rather central, but on the very plus side the staff needs a special mention. At reception, restaurant and terrace staff is smiley, serviceable and helpful, just like a good hotel needs to have. For me that makes always the difference. It has also a very good restaurant which serves really good Indian dishes. Gym is good and big swimming pool. Rooms are fine with a fair Kenyan atmosphere. Excellent on business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

As the name suggests the Serena hotel is surely serene. I had lunch at the pool side. The service was exemplary, the food variety so wide. I could not help myself but over eat and even gobble down some sweet deserts. The afternoon after such a lunch can only be spent by pool for a cool breeze. It was too good.
I recommend for business meetings or lunches.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Ives
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is our second overnight stay here but we felt it had lost its way a bit. The service was a bit hit and miss. In the rooms the beds smelt of Cigarette smoke. They could do with being non smoking. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

For me this is a lovely hotel. Well run, elegant, quite well appointed and an air of colonial splendour about it. My 3rd stay and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Location wise it is convenient for the city centre but traffic does make access somewhat challenging. Then again, all city centre hotels will suffer the same issues.

Restaurants are lovely, bar is efficient and friendly. The pool is just perfect and seems well patronised. Breakfast by the poolside was one of my lasting memories.

My bedroom was nicely appointed but the furniture is perhaps a little dated now. Nevertheless it was comfortable, clean and presentable. Wifi connection was good and room service worked well.

I will always choose the serena when in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

One does not have to be a registered guest to take advantage of the hotel's facilities. For a very reasonable daily fee of $25-30 one is able to use their fabulous pool and spa and well-equipped exercise room; of course one is also eat in one of their many resturants. A day there would sooth any travel weary body.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#14 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#13 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.