We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a layover--wish we had had a longer stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Nashville, Tn
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“A great place for a layover--wish we had had a longer stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a too short layover in Nairobi and stayed at the Serena. We arrived late in the evening and had an early checkout to catch a flight to a camp. It is not too often that you wish you could have stayed longer at a hotel but this was the case with the Serena. The hotel is lovely and well maitained-- the common areas, our room and the restaurant. The staff was courteous and efficient at check in and check out. If we get back to Nairobi we will stay at the Serena.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    162
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
55
140
37
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Service excellent. Our checkin was seamless, maybe because our guide from Classic Escapes did it for us. When we arrived around 9:30pm, there were birds singing, and we found out it was frogs on the pond. A lovely sound. The hotel is old with lots of character. Our room was great. Marble bathroom with deep tub and handheld shower plus regular shower. Big bath sheets, two robes, slippers, all the nice amenities. Closet light turns on when door opened, thick blackout curtains, electric kettle, complimentary bottled water (we paid $8 US for a liter of same at the Norfolk Delamere Terrace today at lunch!!!). Breakfast included in the rate.
The wifi is better in the rooms than the lobby. Still not very fast, though, but complimentary.
One thing: they need more outlets. We can't charge our iPhone/iPad by the bed and couldn't at all without the extension cord I brought.
Very nice hotel. We've heard the food is excellent, too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had two stopovers at the Nairobi Serena. Both were excellant with very good and comfortable rooms, very good food, convenient location and most of all staff that were more than keen to be as helpful as possible. I cannot speak too highly of the environment in the hotel which made one very comfortable and at home.

Room Tip: Nicest overlooking Uhuru Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived in Nairobi early in the morning ,and were transferred to the hotel through the early morning work rush which was manic. we were welcomed and transferred to our room with efficiency and then slept for four hours as the Heathrow to Nairobi flight is not recommended if you wish to sleep.At lunchtime we sat overlooking the game park had a sandwich and a beer and enjoyed the sunshine. We had a visit from two Kenyan residents in the early evening and treated them to a meal, which was average. Slept well no early morning call despite a request for one. Had a pleasant 24 hours in Nairobi near to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking Game Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is pricey but the drinks in the bar are reasonable and cocktails well made. The food was extolled in the guidebooks, but is actually only quite ok. Breakfast has great fresh juices, good bircher muesli, but the items that had to be ordered from the waiter often had to be asked for several times (coffee/toast/eggs). Taxis ordered through the hotel were always over-priced, but good quality and safe. The rooms are good. Lots of pillows. And a great pool, spa, gym. So really for a few nights in Nairobi is a very good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had a couple of nights at the Serena last month. The service remains impeccable. The buffet breakfasts are to die for. I love the bar for afternoon tea, a great selection of South African white wines by the glass or a late night single malt. One evening, I was having drinks with two Kenyan friends. The bar was full. One of my friends commented, "There's Raila Odinga (the current prime minister of Kenya and perhaps the next president)." What interested me was that only a total of 4 people in the entire bar got up to speak with him (and I would say that a majority of the people in the bar were Africans). People comment that the hotel needs a re-do. Yes, it is the same as it was when I last stayed there, 3 years ago. And yes, it is not "modern" or trendy in decor (vs. traditional African). But I have nothing at all negative to say about the Serena except that it is expensive, yet a great treat for me every time I stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This may not be the most modern of hotels around but i rate it above the cutting-edge places i often stay in in the Far East due to its traditional decor and traditional manners. Lovely staff whose smiles light up your day. Everyone takes the time to be polite to you and when travelling on business this makes such a difference to your day. I was also impressed by the facilities, especially the wifi which was available throughout the hotel, including in the rooms so i was able to use my laptop, iphone and ipad very easily. The only thing i missed was a nearby shop where i could stock up on cheap snacks and drinks, so i had to resort to room or restaurant service at all times. But that's not the end of the world!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.