We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned manners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Cardiff, Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned manners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This may not be the most modern of hotels around but i rate it above the cutting-edge places i often stay in in the Far East due to its traditional decor and traditional manners. Lovely staff whose smiles light up your day. Everyone takes the time to be polite to you and when travelling on business this makes such a difference to your day. I was also impressed by the facilities, especially the wifi which was available throughout the hotel, including in the rooms so i was able to use my laptop, iphone and ipad very easily. The only thing i missed was a nearby shop where i could stock up on cheap snacks and drinks, so i had to resort to room or restaurant service at all times. But that's not the end of the world!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    197
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
155
42
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A recent stay, for albeit only a few hours, once again gave me the opportunity to sample the Nairobi Serena Hotel. On arrival - a new passport being presented, the reception staff, shortly after midnight, was alert enough to spot this and changed my records right away as the pre-printed registration form still showed my 'old' passport number.
Travelling light this time I left the standing by hotel porter to resume other duties and went to my room, to find the bed turned down, a flower arrangement on the table and besides the fruit basket a bottle of fine red wine with a welcome note by Daniel Kangu who is the General Manager of the hotel.
The hotel knew that I would be leaving a few hours later to resume my travel across the region and still had done the full monty.
Time flew, as i worked on reports for most of the few hours before heading for breakfast. Supposed to start at 06.30 the buffet was all set shortly after 6 already and I found all the regular goodies like smoked salmon, a full cheese board, cold cuts and a wide range of buns and bread, something for everyone's taste for sure. Compliments here to the chefs for keeping up standards AND presentation and to the morning shift at the Maghreb Restaurant, all of whom were cheerful and when they learned of my imminent departure, served my tea at double speed. 5 stars all the way again and already looking forward to my next return, which MUST be longer to sample the Spa, the gardens and most important, the fine dining experience the hotel offers for dinner.

Room Tip: I still settle for the Garden Suites any time I can have one, though they are in serious demand of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Clearly Nairobi Serena Hotel is in a great location, gardens / landscapes are just beautiful, staff are just amazingly welcoming, smiling, friendly yet professional which made our stay very good. However this old lady is in need of a serious revamp... everything there is old fashioned and one can see that time has past. Honestly the entire facility, from lobby, to bar/restaurant, and rooms need a facelift and I not convinced that it merits the Luxury Hotel of the World rating. We have stayed at Kampala Serena in Uganda prior to our stay in Nairobi and one cannot compare the two hotels ie there is literally a century in between the two, Nairobi Serena being the one stuck in the past! In this context, paying USD 300+ for a standard room, is, in our view, clearly overprice. Elsewhere, with such rates, one can stay in the most modern yet warm 5 star hotels (eg Mandarin hotels). In a nutshell, if you fancy old fashion, and someone else is paying for your stay, then you will definitely find this hotel charming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent just a few hours there between our flights from Kilimanjaro and back home from Nairobi.
It was a nice surprise for us, this hotel was provided by our safari agent Diwaka Safaris as a perfect ending to our Kenya-Tanzania safari

We arrived at the hotel about 22-00 and faced a real 5-star treatment, though we were dusty and tired after 5 hours drive from NgoroNroro to Kilimanjaro and flight to Nairobi and a farewell dinner at Carnivore, also kindly arranged by Diwaka Safaris

Service is faultless, everyone thoughtful and helpful, even proactive. We had to leave early in the morning to catch our flight home. Reception was kind enough to remind us to order an early room service breakfast, place our wake-up call at two o' clock in morning etc. Seems normal for 5-start hotel -we just did not expect to find it in Kenya, don't know why.

spacious rooms, impeccable bathroom ( a bathroom after all this showers in lodges!!!), posh bath towels and amenities, comfy bed. Pity it was just for a few hours, but gave us enough energy to survive through a ling way home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been visiting Nairobi for 13 years and whole heartedly believe that Nairobi Serena is the best place to stay in the city.
Hotel is spotless and staff go out of their way to help. Rooms are great and beds comfortable. All food is good and varied, but breakfasts are superb.
Pool area is gorgeous and again spotless.
Service from all is good and security thorough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here on business after a recommendation. I found all the staff very welcoming and helpful, check-in was quick. I arrived late and ordered room service which arrived promptly. It is in a great location for meetings as it close to the business district. I thought the selection and quality of the food was good. My room was quiet with a nice view of the park. Bar has a nice atmosphere and is reasonably priced. Also showing numerous live sporting events.

I also used the laundry service for a semi-emergency after I ripped the button from my suit jacket half an hour before I was due to leave for a meeting. The member of staff dispatched to help came for my jacket and returned it within 15 minutes, making a fantastic job of re-attaching it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Serena Hotel in Nairobi was where we spent our first night on a 16 day safari in Kenya and Tanzania. The tour company, Vantage Travel, arranged for us to stay in Serena properties for all of our nights' stays and they were all exceptional. Most nights the properties were located in National Parks and all exceeded our expectations. Although very similar in each lodge, the food in the buffet styled restaurants was quite good and the rooms were as good as any 4 star accommodation we've experienced in similar settings in the United States. The cost of our meals was included in the tour price so I can't compare restaurant food prices. Drink prices were slightly above what you'd expect in the U.S. but not unreasonable. I would highly recommend the tour company, the hotels, and the experience.

Room Tip: If you take a safari tour such as this one, be sure to take a substantial amount of cash for tips. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.