We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past Glory in need of a serious Revamp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Past Glory in need of a serious Revamp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Clearly Nairobi Serena Hotel is in a great location, gardens / landscapes are just beautiful, staff are just amazingly welcoming, smiling, friendly yet professional which made our stay very good. However this old lady is in need of a serious revamp... everything there is old fashioned and one can see that time has past. Honestly the entire facility, from lobby, to bar/restaurant, and rooms need a facelift and I not convinced that it merits the Luxury Hotel of the World rating. We have stayed at Kampala Serena in Uganda prior to our stay in Nairobi and one cannot compare the two hotels ie there is literally a century in between the two, Nairobi Serena being the one stuck in the past! In this context, paying USD 300+ for a standard room, is, in our view, clearly overprice. Elsewhere, with such rates, one can stay in the most modern yet warm 5 star hotels (eg Mandarin hotels). In a nutshell, if you fancy old fashion, and someone else is paying for your stay, then you will definitely find this hotel charming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    224
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
71
163
44
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent just a few hours there between our flights from Kilimanjaro and back home from Nairobi.
It was a nice surprise for us, this hotel was provided by our safari agent Diwaka Safaris as a perfect ending to our Kenya-Tanzania safari

We arrived at the hotel about 22-00 and faced a real 5-star treatment, though we were dusty and tired after 5 hours drive from NgoroNroro to Kilimanjaro and flight to Nairobi and a farewell dinner at Carnivore, also kindly arranged by Diwaka Safaris

Service is faultless, everyone thoughtful and helpful, even proactive. We had to leave early in the morning to catch our flight home. Reception was kind enough to remind us to order an early room service breakfast, place our wake-up call at two o' clock in morning etc. Seems normal for 5-start hotel -we just did not expect to find it in Kenya, don't know why.

spacious rooms, impeccable bathroom ( a bathroom after all this showers in lodges!!!), posh bath towels and amenities, comfy bed. Pity it was just for a few hours, but gave us enough energy to survive through a ling way home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been visiting Nairobi for 13 years and whole heartedly believe that Nairobi Serena is the best place to stay in the city.
Hotel is spotless and staff go out of their way to help. Rooms are great and beds comfortable. All food is good and varied, but breakfasts are superb.
Pool area is gorgeous and again spotless.
Service from all is good and security thorough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here on business after a recommendation. I found all the staff very welcoming and helpful, check-in was quick. I arrived late and ordered room service which arrived promptly. It is in a great location for meetings as it close to the business district. I thought the selection and quality of the food was good. My room was quiet with a nice view of the park. Bar has a nice atmosphere and is reasonably priced. Also showing numerous live sporting events.

I also used the laundry service for a semi-emergency after I ripped the button from my suit jacket half an hour before I was due to leave for a meeting. The member of staff dispatched to help came for my jacket and returned it within 15 minutes, making a fantastic job of re-attaching it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Serena Hotel in Nairobi was where we spent our first night on a 16 day safari in Kenya and Tanzania. The tour company, Vantage Travel, arranged for us to stay in Serena properties for all of our nights' stays and they were all exceptional. Most nights the properties were located in National Parks and all exceeded our expectations. Although very similar in each lodge, the food in the buffet styled restaurants was quite good and the rooms were as good as any 4 star accommodation we've experienced in similar settings in the United States. The cost of our meals was included in the tour price so I can't compare restaurant food prices. Drink prices were slightly above what you'd expect in the U.S. but not unreasonable. I would highly recommend the tour company, the hotels, and the experience.

Room Tip: If you take a safari tour such as this one, be sure to take a substantial amount of cash for tips. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Returned to Serena Hotel after five years. This is still my favorite hotel in Nairobi. Fast and friendly check-in/out, excellent service. My room was quiet, very spacious, and spotlessly clean. The garden invites one to spend time outside just like the renovated pool area.

Room Tip: Even though my room overlooked the main entrance the double windows provide excellent noise shieldin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiburon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

They were on top of every thing. Airport pick up and drop off. Stored our extra bags while we
Were on a safari. Meals were mostly buffet. Tasty and wide asortment. Drinks at the bar
Came fast and were fairly priced. Rooms are big and the bed comfortable

Room Tip: Ask for a room teaching the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.