We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy to deal with.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
tiburon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“easy to deal with.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

They were on top of every thing. Airport pick up and drop off. Stored our extra bags while we
Were on a safari. Meals were mostly buffet. Tasty and wide asortment. Drinks at the bar
Came fast and were fairly priced. Rooms are big and the bed comfortable

Room Tip: Ask for a room teaching the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    174
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
144
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here one night between Kilimanjaro travels and "roughing it" in the bush. I don't know if my being overjoyed was a result relative to my recent experiences, but I was literally jumping and squealing once the doors were closed. The rooms feel plush and high-end, with attention to detail. We're from New York, so we know what we're talking about. As soon as we settled in, we ordered room service, which was great. The food was above average (for Africa). Breakfast was a great feast. The hotel offered what felt like mountains of food. A huge assortment of freshly prepared juices, breads, pastries, cereals, hot items, etc. We were happy, but sad to check out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Although I only spent 2 days at the Serena hotel, I must admit that I had a quite positive stay. With highly attentive and friendly staff and beautiful seating areas; Serena is one of the best and descent hotels I have ever visited in Nairobi. The hotel is located in perfect and very welcoming grounds (Uhuru Park Gardens). Although generally the hotel is cool, I observed several negatives about it. The meals and rooms are too expensive for the room size as well as the quality of meals. All the breakfasts were complete though very dull. Besides, the check in process is very slow as the clerk took about half an hour to get me checked in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Service excellent, room was small but well appointed, clean and everything worked. Used the massage facilities which were excellent as well. Had supper in the hotel excellent Indian food! Breakfast was fast friendly and impressive in regards to range. Great stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on floors 3 upwards less noise and no foot traffic found on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here before and after a safari and it was just fine. The rooms are comfortable, the buffet breakfast wonderful, and the staff helpful. Our only regret was that we were so busy that we really didn’t get a chance to enjoy the hotel’s amenities. Our two stays here bracketed a journey (or should I say safari) for two shepherded by Aramati Safaris. We worked with John Ndegwa and our guide and driver was Eldad Muita. Both were awesome. Besides seeing many awesome sights and experiencing some of the culture, we were well-cared for, listened to, and comfortable (well, as comfortable as possible given the Kenyan and Tanzanian roads). Both of these men went way beyond what was necessary – even to the point of purchasing a camera for us in Nairobi and getting it delivered to us in the Masai Mara when mine broke enroute. We enjoyed our visit so much that we are contemplating a return visit to see Kenya and Tanzania beyond the parks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This month I stayed at the Serena for a couple of nights before and after a 3 week Safari trip. It was a great place to rest after a grueling flight getting to Kenya and a great place to recoup and recorganized after the Safari getting ready for the return to the US. Rooms are plenty large enough, well appointed, and comfortable. The staff is great and very interested in your comfort. Don't expect fast service from the restaurant staff they are expecting you to relax and assume you are not in a hurry.

Most importantly you feel completely safe and isolated from the surrounding city and unfamiliar environment of the big city third world city of Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in October 2012,for one night only, prior to setting off on safari and, based on our very positive experience, I have to agree with most reviewers. This is an outstanding hotel, serene and tranquil, despite its proximity to central Nairobi and Uhuru Park. Facilities are excellent; staff treated us, without exception, with pleasantness and first-class service: nothing was any trouble. Security, at the entrance, in the gardens and throughout the accommodation floors allayed any possible fears. Food was very good indeed, with a range of dining options, the pool area being an idyllic setting. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and would be delighted to have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.