We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Been to the Niarobi Serena many times, as it is a lovely hotel and we like to stay here before and after safaris. On our last visit however we were not so happy. The problem was having to vacate the room by 10am when your BA flight to London departs at almost midnight. We asked if it was possible to keep the room for a little longer, and were told the hotel was full and they needed the rooms,(which is fair enough),but if we paid then it would be ok to keep the rooms until 6pm, but the charge would be about 150 dollars per room. We paid, but felt the charge was a little excessive, as most hotels would not charge as much.Having said all that we will probably return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    230
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
73
167
45
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Classic design and lay-out. The collection of jewelry, masks, musical instruments, etc. from various countries makes waiting for the elevator a pleasure! Rooms are comfortable and functional. Those with views of the Central Park are to be recommended. Restaurants are good and the service is exemplary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Nairobi Serena is a very relaxing, great quality hotel that is well located in the city centre. The service is given with a smile by dedicated staff.

The rooms are clean and well serviced despite not being particularly generously proportioned.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Serena Hotel for a night before a trip to the Masai Mara and then we returned to the Serena a few days later for a conference and we then stayed for 3 nights. I was very impressed with the number of security guards on each floor as well as even a security guard on duty around the pool as well as guards around the gardens. It appears that the Serena takes security very seriously. We had a delightful stay and everyone was very friendly. We ate poolside a couple of times. The food was fine, nothing extraordinary but adequate. But the breakfasts were great! We had room service breakfasts which he ordered the night before in order to save time in the morning. All in all, just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at Serena for One week in October. I did not feel alien which is very reassuring especially for a first-time visitor. The staff were professional all the way, smiled and offered assistance whenever encountered. There are some things that could be improved such as Lobby decor (hard to understand the asian influences and african art; some of which is cheap-looking and reproductions). The bed was also hard, even after being moved to a different room. A/C blew up a musty cigarette smell which my business partner also encountered in his room. However, the rooms were clean, updated decor-wise, ample towels in bathroom and slippers. The WiFi was also good as was the in-room internet. The Serena excudes an air of reassurance & confidence like an old well worn briefcase, smart wool coat, or classic car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
307 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

stayed for 5 nights . veg indian food is execellent . went to all the other hotels but serena is a class apart in nairobi except the only comparable is fairmount. the staff is very helpful and the view is very nice. the hotel is the best in nairobi. security is very good. the duty manager lameck kimaru helped me a lot. also the chef cooked few indian dishes not in the menu. the hotel pickup is also nice.

Room Tip: rooms facing the garden and on the 4th floor and if taking executive room then the first floor is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We only spent one night here as we were traveling on to the Masai Mara for a safari. The hotel is very safe, well maintained, clean, beautifully decorated and convenient to the airport. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They also arranged a 2 hour tour (without any notice) with a great driver whose English was excellent who then drove us to the city and the sights. The food is what I would rate as average. I do understand we are out of the states, so I was not totally surprised even though our food on the safari was actually better. I looked at a lot of the other hotels on our tour and was not impressed with their appearance from the exterior. We did not see any animals from the hotel but very much enjoyed their outside seating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 131 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.