We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is the Name of Their Game” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service is the Name of Their Game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I attended a small conference hosted at the Nairobi Serena Hotel in Nairobi, Kenya at the end of March 2012.

My family of four accompanied me on the trip (husband, wife and two girls aged 7 and 3).

We stayed Sunday through Wednesday.

LOCATION

The hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi in a very nice area. The Crowne Plaza is also a very nice hotel in the same area. The Country Lodge is also in the same area, although it is not as nice a hotel as the other two (although the grounds are lovely).

RESERVATION / REGISTRATION

I did not have to make a reservation, as this was taken care of by the conference hosts.

The reception by the doormen was excellent. Very friendly. They were very helpful

Checking in took a little bit of time, but nothing extraordinary.

My family of four (2 adults and 2 small children under 10 years of age) stayed in one room with a king bed. Hotels in Africa are notorious for charging for more than two occupants.

A Passport was required at check-in.

The bellman was prompt.

All staff wear uniforms or are easily identifiable.

PROPERTY

The property consists of a main building with guest rooms, two or three restaurants, a swimming pool and conference facilities.

The property is well-used, but also well-maintained.

It is lovely to walk around the property.

The swimming pool is large and well-maintained.

ROOMS

Our rooms was equipped with a king-sized bed (two beds put together - you can slide in-between them), a television set with limited channels, a table with 2 chairs. The bathroom was more than adequate.

Guest rooms are air conditioned. The air conditioning works well, but not amazingly.

No pests were noticed indoors.

I think there was an iron and board in the room. I can't remember.

MAINTENANCE

Everything was in working order.

The refrigerator was not especially cold.

RESTAURANT

The food is a little pricey, but not bad at all.

One of the restaurants does not allow children, so we did not eat there. The other restaurant was extremely child-friendly and helpful. My children loved eating breakfast there.

The poolside service is also good.

INTERNET

I think internet was free and generally available throughout the hotel.

SERVICE

The Serena has WONDERFUL service. Most of the staff knew my children by name.

CONFERENCE FACILITIES

The Conference facilities were adequate.

CONCLUSION

The Serena Nairobi Hotel is very nice; we loved our stay there. It is pricey, but definitely worth it if you don't mind spending the money. If you want somewhere with nice rooms, and less expensive, although not as many amenities, the Crowne Plaza is also a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    198
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
155
42
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel has to be in my top 3 in Africa. I have stayed in this hotel three to four times a year for the last four years. Every visit ensures a lasting impression. From the check- in, to the rooms an air of excellence in always to be expected. Rooms are spacious, huge beds, bathroom are nice. I do a lot of in room dining in order to catch up with my work. The menu is outstanding and the care taken with service is just fabulous. 10 out of 10 from me.

Room Tip: Some of the views of the city are not great but hey thats no biggie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, Calif
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 18 years. Just spent 5 nights here in February & early March 2012. The rooms are outstanding but some of the views out the windows are not great. Housekeeping is about as good as you can get. No long walks to the elevator and a staff guard on each floor. The Mandhari Restaurant is tops, especially if the weather is nice and you eat outside on the terrace. Unfortunately it is closed on Sundays but the food is exceptional, the wines outstanding, and the price is right. The buffet restaurant is also excellent and again the patio is the best for breakfast & lunch. Only problem is sometimes the bees can be pesty and love to hang around the jam pots. The pool terrace is very nice for a casual meal. The staff, including the doorman and bell service are terrific! This is a class operation, as are all the Serena hotels & lodges. We have been in everyone except Uganda and always received full value for the cost. I consider this the best hotel in Nairobi, bar none.

Room Tip: Don't expect a great view from most of the rooms but who really cares?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

A brief stay at Nairobi Serena on route to Nakuru and the Mara but this hotel never ever disappoints. The service, standard of accommodation, facilities and food are quite simply superb. There were some very very Important guests staying there during our visit but the service we received was not diminished even though they really had to take care of this particular guest! In fact we were treated like VIPs ourselves.
We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was definitely a full service oriented hotel. Our balcony room was impeccably clean and comfortable. They even give you your choice of pillows.
I forgot a curling iron and checked out the beauty salon. Straight, fine, blonde hair was probably not their specialty because they had a choice of numerous flat irons for straightening, but they ordered one for me and had it within 12 hours.
The dinner buffet was lucious! It included a outdoor grilling area also. Everything was tasty. Be adventurous and try everything,. Even if you don't think you'd like it, the preparation was so good there was nothing I didn't like!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great. Fragrant vines climb up the railing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Serena for 2 nights on a recent business trip to Nairobi. The hotel is clean, conveniently located, and secure. I used the gym facilities one morning and found them to be very nice, with a good staff. I'd give the hotel between 3 and 4 stars. I'd stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Greatly attentive to the details! In terms of the facility but also in terms of the people running it. Upon arrival instant recognition of the Leading Hotels membership, with subsequent rooom upgrade. Roooms were nicely appointed, well refurbished, efficient free broadband wifi everywhere, Comfortable beds and nice amenities that are absolutely to the level one would expect of a member of the leading Hotels in the world. Most important, was the kind well trained and polite personnel that always went out of its way to assist and please us. I would strongly recommend this Establishment which although not cheap is well within the European 5* luxury standards and I never thought I could find it in Kenya.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.