We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here before & after our safari. We had a large, comfortable, quiet room. We really enjoyed the African art displayed throughout the hotel. The pool was a great place to relax at the end of our safari. We had an excellent variety of food at the buffet for breakfast & dinner.
The gift shop had a nice assortment of quality local products.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    198
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
155
42
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful day enjoying the beauty and food at this great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Another great hotel in the Serena Chain. Centrally located. Beautiful pool environment. The lobby has fantastic displays of art. The staff very professional. The brunch on Sundays fantastic food. Ample parking. Great place to hold business meetings.

Room Tip: Ak for room facing Uhuru Park for nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We use Nairobi Serena for a rest after a long flight out from Heathrow. It is perfect for our purposes with all the facilities you would want and a very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here in October 2011 after flying in from the UK andbefore we went on safari. We stayed three nights in total - 2 before the safari and one after. The hotel is a good 5 star hotel - the food is very good although expensive - likewise drinks were very expensive. The staff are professional and attentive. The standard of the rroms were very good - the hotel were aware that we were celebrating an annivesary and left us flowers and cava in the room - a nice touch!
The swimming pool was a nice place to relax - however the pool was looking a little tired. (I believe that they have since refurbished the area).
Our last night after safari - we were given a suite of rooms - whichwere fantastic - but we did no have the time to enjoy them, having t leave early the next day. There was wifi in most areas of the hotel and the security around the grounds was excellent - even a security guard on each floor. Would I stay again - yes. We stayed at this hotel with kuoni - and the transfers to and from the airprt were excellent.
Enjoyed the wildlife around the grounds - good for photography!

Room Tip: Arrange to pay your bill the night before you leave - its less hassle and we noticed several queues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

fresh food buh rather ageing furniture throughout the hotel,polite staff but for a hotel of its class it couln not offer tree wi-fi and even when i paid 4 it it was still very slow and unresponsive.

Room Tip: top floors offer a very good view of nairobi city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This morning, february the 5th. 2012 we left the Nairobi Serena Hotel early, to catch our flight back to Europe.
We are frequent visitors of the Serena Hotels, the Nairobi Serena Hotel is our favourite in town. However the check-in and out policy leads to confusion for undefined reasons on every stay.
Because I am familiar with this I try to work the system in such a way, it can’t go wrong, allthough…
This is what I do;
1. Via telephone reservations I make my booking.
2. Then I confirm the rate, dates and reservation number via email correspondence.
3. On arrival I produce my email correspondence at the reception, pay cash for the room, ask a receipt.

When I leave the hotel, the only thing left to pay are the extra’s; drinks and restaurant bills wich I signed for.

Now……. Life at the cashier is not as simple. Many many peolple have been complaining about this, for your reference check : www.tripadvisor.com . On this website your cashiers are not yet put on the most wanted list but they are working hard to get there. The lengthy procedure, the lost and confused faces of the employees gaping at their computer screens as if the good Lord has set water on fire seem to have lost contact with earth.
Here we go……. “”OK bwana I have allready paid for my stay, look at my receipt!”” Why do you want me to pay for the room again? The only thing I need to pay are my extra’s. How difficult can it be???
Please skip these amounts.. Or the discussion between the breakfast inclusive rate or the exclusive one. Obviously a guest is not going to pay for a b reakfast inclusive rate when the plain leaves at 7.30 in the morning from JKIA and one has to report at the airport check in counter at 6 AM, breakfast is not even served at that time! How difficult is a cashiers life to understand this?

These are is just some examples of cash hassslement at Nairobi Serena. Me and many other frequent visitors are aware of taking at least 30 minutes to settle accounts. You should really do something about this! It can’t be that difficult!

Best regards,

Doeke Hekstra

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.