We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

One of the best place to stay in Nairobi. Its a 5 star and belongs to the Aga Khan Group. Have many Hotels in Kenya. Right in the city centre and is a very busy hotel because of its location. The rooms are very spacious with all 5 star comforts. The bathrooms are big enough and equiped with all toileteries. The staff is also very friendly and at times it may take some time to look in to your needs as its very busy but they do take care of everything. If you plan to go on a safari and would be returning back after few days then can keep your heavy luggage in the cloak room. Would like to mention that they have excellent breakfast served. Plenty of choices for a person who is choosy. In all an excellent place to stay when in Nairobi

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    231
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
74
167
45
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed here for nine days as part of a honeymoon and to meet family in Nairobi. This place is very classy, and I've not been in a better hotel in Nairobi. The breakfast buffet is possibly the best hotel breakfast I have had anywhere in the world. Most of the time there were many staff around, so getting service was easy. It is well situated for central Nairobi.

The only problems I has were that the Executive Suites were (and still are) advertised as having a veranda. Ours certainly didn't.

Check-in was not very straight forward, it took a few hours for the hotel to work out which booking was ours. Thankfully we went for lunch while they sorted it out. There were many disgruntled customers in the same situation, I suspect this hotel has some problems with reservations.

Even with the 'do not disturb' sign on the door, housekeeping frequently knocked the door to find if we had any laundry. This was mostly before 9am, and we were on honeymoon so it was not appreciated.

Oh, and the bed was very hard!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed there for two night prior to S. Sudan's Independence in July. I was greeted with smiles from the day we arrived to the day we left. It was bliss. The room was ok, but we had some issues with another friend travelling into Juba. The hotel Concierge sorted that out for us. They even went the extra mile to make sure our stay would be good in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World group and is consistently voted ‘Best Hotel in Nairobi' by airlines and international travel magazines alike. Despite its pivotal central location, the Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We had stayed at the Nairobi Serena on 3 separate occasions for business purposes, and more than 2 weeks at a time. This is one hotel I would recommend to everybody. The staff, and I mean ALL of the staff, go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable. They are very responsive to any issues you may have, and are quick to resolve them. I realize with reading one of the reviews that there were problems with the reservations, and other people booked with the same travel agency had problems with the reservations, but then that may be the issue with the travel agency and not necessarily with the hotel. I personally, would not stay anywhere else in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here for one night before our flight, when the receptionist found out it was our honeymoon they gave us a free upgrade to a superior suite and gave us a bottle of champayne. The room was perfect, the service was great - we had room service which was delicious. The staff were very helpful and the hotel was very smart - highly recommended for a stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEJO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel prior to going on a safari with A&K. I booked my reservation through my travel agent to stay a day or so prior to the start of the tour. A&K had booked us for the following day as day one of the tour. When we arrived, the hotel stated they had no record of our reservation. I had the confirmation letter with me with all the booking info and confirm number. They then stated "oh this reservation was cancelled. They could not tell me who cancelled the reservation or when it was cancelled, and were not forthcoming about the situation. Mind you this was midnight, after a LONG flight. The hotel manager was of no help. The registration clerk was on the phone talking with ???someone who was dictating this info to him and did not seem to grasp what was going on. I finally just asked to be put in a room, and that I would pay for the room and straighten things out about the reservation when I got home. At first I was told that there were no available rooms, and not given much of a choice. Then the clerk seemed to find a room available. I told them that we would be with A&K the next night and would we have to change rooms the next day. I was told no, that it would not be a problem. I was happy to have a room and be able to sleep in the next day after the long long day and night we had. The next morning I went down to check on the status of our original reservation, and was told that it was taken care of. No apology, no explaination NO NOTHING!!! EXCEPT. that we had to change rooms....This was very inconvienent, as we had unpacked with the expectation of staying in that room. The next night, 7 people from our tour group, who were booked at the hotel by A&K found themselves without rooms..again very late at night....They had to stay at some place near the airport that was less than satisfactory. It seems that this hotel cannot get their act together. They are unorganized, unapologetic, and totally unprofessional in handling any type of situation, and do not have any regard to their clients. The rooms are clean, and good size. The beds are hard and uncomfortable, the airconditioner may or maynot work. We had to call several times for someone to fix ours in both the rooms! The food is expensive and average to below average. Certainly nothing to write home about. If going to Nariobi, skip this hotel..Stay at the intercontinental or Hilton or anyplace else...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.