We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for a stop-over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for a stop-over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here for one night before our flight, when the receptionist found out it was our honeymoon they gave us a free upgrade to a superior suite and gave us a bottle of champayne. The room was perfect, the service was great - we had room service which was delicious. The staff were very helpful and the hotel was very smart - highly recommended for a stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    209
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
68
160
43
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VALLEJO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel prior to going on a safari with A&K. I booked my reservation through my travel agent to stay a day or so prior to the start of the tour. A&K had booked us for the following day as day one of the tour. When we arrived, the hotel stated they had no record of our reservation. I had the confirmation letter with me with all the booking info and confirm number. They then stated "oh this reservation was cancelled. They could not tell me who cancelled the reservation or when it was cancelled, and were not forthcoming about the situation. Mind you this was midnight, after a LONG flight. The hotel manager was of no help. The registration clerk was on the phone talking with ???someone who was dictating this info to him and did not seem to grasp what was going on. I finally just asked to be put in a room, and that I would pay for the room and straighten things out about the reservation when I got home. At first I was told that there were no available rooms, and not given much of a choice. Then the clerk seemed to find a room available. I told them that we would be with A&K the next night and would we have to change rooms the next day. I was told no, that it would not be a problem. I was happy to have a room and be able to sleep in the next day after the long long day and night we had. The next morning I went down to check on the status of our original reservation, and was told that it was taken care of. No apology, no explaination NO NOTHING!!! EXCEPT. that we had to change rooms....This was very inconvienent, as we had unpacked with the expectation of staying in that room. The next night, 7 people from our tour group, who were booked at the hotel by A&K found themselves without rooms..again very late at night....They had to stay at some place near the airport that was less than satisfactory. It seems that this hotel cannot get their act together. They are unorganized, unapologetic, and totally unprofessional in handling any type of situation, and do not have any regard to their clients. The rooms are clean, and good size. The beds are hard and uncomfortable, the airconditioner may or maynot work. We had to call several times for someone to fix ours in both the rooms! The food is expensive and average to below average. Certainly nothing to write home about. If going to Nariobi, skip this hotel..Stay at the intercontinental or Hilton or anyplace else...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at the Nairobi Serena for 5 nights in September 2011. My husband was in Nairobi on business, and I was along for a vacation. From the moment we arrived, the service was excellent. Our room wasn't ready upon arrival, so we were offered a complimentary beverage in the lounge, and the concierge brought us our room keys only 20 minutes later. The food was very good with lots of options in the buffet restaurant, the poolside cafe, as well as the formal a la carte restaurant. Prices in the restaurants and the lounge were also very reasonable considering the Serena is a 5 star hotel, at least from our Canadian perspective. Morning housekeeping and evening turndown services were very thorough and considerate, given I was around the hotel room occasionally during the day. The pool and gym facility was top notch, lots of cardio machines with TVs, very new equipment and clean. The sauna, steamroom and whirlpool were also very nice. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. I felt very safe by myself at the hotel throughout the days. Overall, it was an excellent stay, and I would highly recommend staying at the Nairobi Serena.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We spent our first night in Kenya at the Nairobi Serena, since our flight arrived at 6pm and we couldn't fly to our safari camp until the next morning. We also had a dayroom at this same hotel for our final afternoon in Kenya.

The hotel has beautiful public spaces - the reception, restaurants, garden are spectacular with some exotic touches and quite comfortable. The rooms were fine, but nothing extraordinary. The bathroom was small but good, excellent shower and hair-dryer (especially appreciated on our departure day, after 10 days under canvas it was good to have a shower and blow-dry before heading to the airport for the long flight home). Bed was comfortable, some english-language channels on tv (BBC, CNN). Staff were efficient and helpful, the iron & ironing board I requested for our dayroom were promptly delivered, and the cashier was gracious about changing a US$50 bill for smaller US notes for tips.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but did eat breakfast there - due to early departure we opened the restaurant and were the only diners at 6am. It's an understatement to call the breakfast buffet "lavish" - it was massive, including beautiful fresh fruits & juices, yogurts, oatmeal, cereals & granola, nuts, eggs prepared several ways (or to order), bacon, sausages, many different breads and toppings, and on and on. Excellent coffee. Rather exotic room and attire for waiters, which was a nice touch (especially as it was still dark when we dined in the semi-open restaurant around a fountained courtyard).

Would I make a special trip to come to this hotel? No, but as a stopover en route to safari country or for a dayroom before a long flight home, it's a very comfortable and convenient option.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

A very welcoming and well kept hotel. A very varied menu in the restaurant and speedy room service. Efficient check in and out and 24 h currency exchange.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Spent two nights here in August and it was a nightmare. The staff were obnoxious and snobby, not helpful or kind. The service was better when they heard my American accent. When they didn't, it was totally different. The service at the lounge/bar area was painfully slow. It took over an hour to get chicken wings. The cleaning staff were vacuuming the hallways early in the morning. There was construction in the room above, also early in the morning. Although the rooms were comfortable, the walls were thin so we could hear guests in the room next door.

I will never, ever stay at the Nairobi Serena again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay in both The Serena and The Fairmont in Nairobi this month. We stayed in garden view suites in both hotels. I must say that the 'private garden' at the Serena was very nice and certainly the highlight of the room. Unfortunately, the rest of it was dated and tired. There were even cigarette burns in the duvet on the very hard and uncomfortable bed (an African theme?) The bed at the Fairmont was much better. Room service was good. The property in general was nicer at The Fairmont. Would skip Serena if given the choice. Unremarkable.

Room Tip: Garden view suite with private garden is ideal if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya; the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities.Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.