We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at the Nairobi Serena for 5 nights in September 2011. My husband was in Nairobi on business, and I was along for a vacation. From the moment we arrived, the service was excellent. Our room wasn't ready upon arrival, so we were offered a complimentary beverage in the lounge, and the concierge brought us our room keys only 20 minutes later. The food was very good with lots of options in the buffet restaurant, the poolside cafe, as well as the formal a la carte restaurant. Prices in the restaurants and the lounge were also very reasonable considering the Serena is a 5 star hotel, at least from our Canadian perspective. Morning housekeeping and evening turndown services were very thorough and considerate, given I was around the hotel room occasionally during the day. The pool and gym facility was top notch, lots of cardio machines with TVs, very new equipment and clean. The sauna, steamroom and whirlpool were also very nice. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. I felt very safe by myself at the hotel throughout the days. Overall, it was an excellent stay, and I would highly recommend staying at the Nairobi Serena.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    174
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
143
39
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We spent our first night in Kenya at the Nairobi Serena, since our flight arrived at 6pm and we couldn't fly to our safari camp until the next morning. We also had a dayroom at this same hotel for our final afternoon in Kenya.

The hotel has beautiful public spaces - the reception, restaurants, garden are spectacular with some exotic touches and quite comfortable. The rooms were fine, but nothing extraordinary. The bathroom was small but good, excellent shower and hair-dryer (especially appreciated on our departure day, after 10 days under canvas it was good to have a shower and blow-dry before heading to the airport for the long flight home). Bed was comfortable, some english-language channels on tv (BBC, CNN). Staff were efficient and helpful, the iron & ironing board I requested for our dayroom were promptly delivered, and the cashier was gracious about changing a US$50 bill for smaller US notes for tips.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but did eat breakfast there - due to early departure we opened the restaurant and were the only diners at 6am. It's an understatement to call the breakfast buffet "lavish" - it was massive, including beautiful fresh fruits & juices, yogurts, oatmeal, cereals & granola, nuts, eggs prepared several ways (or to order), bacon, sausages, many different breads and toppings, and on and on. Excellent coffee. Rather exotic room and attire for waiters, which was a nice touch (especially as it was still dark when we dined in the semi-open restaurant around a fountained courtyard).

Would I make a special trip to come to this hotel? No, but as a stopover en route to safari country or for a dayroom before a long flight home, it's a very comfortable and convenient option.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

A very welcoming and well kept hotel. A very varied menu in the restaurant and speedy room service. Efficient check in and out and 24 h currency exchange.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Spent two nights here in August and it was a nightmare. The staff were obnoxious and snobby, not helpful or kind. The service was better when they heard my American accent. When they didn't, it was totally different. The service at the lounge/bar area was painfully slow. It took over an hour to get chicken wings. The cleaning staff were vacuuming the hallways early in the morning. There was construction in the room above, also early in the morning. Although the rooms were comfortable, the walls were thin so we could hear guests in the room next door.

I will never, ever stay at the Nairobi Serena again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay in both The Serena and The Fairmont in Nairobi this month. We stayed in garden view suites in both hotels. I must say that the 'private garden' at the Serena was very nice and certainly the highlight of the room. Unfortunately, the rest of it was dated and tired. There were even cigarette burns in the duvet on the very hard and uncomfortable bed (an African theme?) The bed at the Fairmont was much better. Room service was good. The property in general was nicer at The Fairmont. Would skip Serena if given the choice. Unremarkable.

Room Tip: Garden view suite with private garden is ideal if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

centrally located, busy hotel that seems to have quite a few conferences. room was comfortable but gardens and lobby looking a bit dated and deserves a revamp soon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Nairobi Serena is pleasant, comfortable, well appointed and has an excellent staff. That said, I was mildly disappointed because it has no defining character. It could be any 4-5 star hotel in a major African city. There is nothing to dislike but there is nothing particularly exciting or interesting either. You will be perfectly satisfied but you will not have a memorable experience either.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue/Processional Way | P.O. Box 46302, Nairobi GPO, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.