We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will only be disappointed...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From $123
Ranked #38 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
Hattiesburg, MS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You will only be disappointed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Definitely NOT a 4-star hotel--rooms are tiny, shabby, internet is incredibly expensive, not so clean--basically, very disappointing. There were hairs in my bathtub in two different rooms, and the phones did not work in the two different rooms (one had no dial tone at all, and one had a dial tone but would not dial the front desk or any of the other direct dial buttons on the phone). After asking twice for shampoo, I received a bar of soap. Bellhops did not come out to the car to take my luggage, they just stood around inside joking until I called one of them specifically. Check in and out takes an inordinate amount of time with insufficient staff at the desk, and both times I checked out the credit card machine had connection problems. I would not stay here again under any circumstances.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    178
    178
    96
    50
See reviews for
48
90
75
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Although we stayed only for a night, it was well worth it. The hotel is in a very good area for eating out, and shopping. Do visit the two curio shops inside the hotel. You get some very good stuff there at very reasonable prices, especially in the last shop. The staff is very helpful, nice and polite. The buffet spread is very good in the main restaurant. It is relatively safer for tourists to stay in this locality than in the central business district of Nairobi. Also very good for business stays.

  • Liked — Location, Rooms, Service
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Rooms with funny dimensions.. The staff is very friendly and cordial and this was my fist experience of my lugguage being scanned by X-ray machines... Only after 26/11 this has become reality in India

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Spent couple of nights at the Hilton, with a special weekend internet promotional rate. Was worth every euro... Comfortable rooms, good buffet breakfast and enjoyed the gym as well. However, was turned off on the cost of using WI-Fi at room. Decided to use the internet cafe opposite the hotel, with a fraction of the cost. The best was the location, truly dowtown. I found it quite safe to walk around regardless of all the warnings.... Recommended, at least for the promotional rate.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

The staff at this hotel really push a safari tour. I expressed a slight bit of interest to the porter, and received four cold calls from tour operators in one night. The latest came after 22:00. I finally had to complain to management, who were uninterested. Gym has a Concept II rowing machine and nice weights. High Speed Internet is slow, and only connects via cable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Meeting in Kenyatta International Convention Center; this hotel was extremely convenient, and staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

I stayed in Nairobi for 1 night at the end of a 2 week holiday, unfortunately I left my hotel booking until 2 days before I was due to arrive and most hotels were full. I managed to get a room here and was quite pleased as it looked to be very well located.

The reception was typically Hilton looking, and check-in was ok as it was very busy.

The room was a standard room, hopefully the superior rooms are better, and I was very disappointed when I opened the door. I assume the hotel was built in the 70's or early 80's as the room design is very, very dated. It's had a few coats of paint since then but the whole room looked very tired and in need of some TLC. There was a large safe which was big enough to fit a laptop inside, although the TV also appeared to be a refugee from the 1980's. The bathroom was along the same lines, clean but very worn looking.

Luckily I only spent 1 night here, but in future will definitely book much earlier to make sure I can stay somewhere different !

There is an outdoor pool here, but I didn't get time to take a look at it. 'The Jockey' (the onsite English pub) is ok for a few drinks.

If you can stay somewhere else in Nairobi, then you probably should.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.