We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in busy central Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Oasis in busy central Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Meeting in Kenyatta International Convention Center; this hotel was extremely convenient, and staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    186
    190
    98
    51
See reviews for
53
94
78
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

I stayed in Nairobi for 1 night at the end of a 2 week holiday, unfortunately I left my hotel booking until 2 days before I was due to arrive and most hotels were full. I managed to get a room here and was quite pleased as it looked to be very well located.

The reception was typically Hilton looking, and check-in was ok as it was very busy.

The room was a standard room, hopefully the superior rooms are better, and I was very disappointed when I opened the door. I assume the hotel was built in the 70's or early 80's as the room design is very, very dated. It's had a few coats of paint since then but the whole room looked very tired and in need of some TLC. There was a large safe which was big enough to fit a laptop inside, although the TV also appeared to be a refugee from the 1980's. The bathroom was along the same lines, clean but very worn looking.

Luckily I only spent 1 night here, but in future will definitely book much earlier to make sure I can stay somewhere different !

There is an outdoor pool here, but I didn't get time to take a look at it. 'The Jockey' (the onsite English pub) is ok for a few drinks.

If you can stay somewhere else in Nairobi, then you probably should.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

I went to Nairobi in a business trip. The hotel was well located specially it was very close to KICC where we had to participate in the Food Agro exhibition. The service was good as well as the breakfast. But the rooms are average and need to be renovated. We had to pay $35/night extra to get the business package that included internet connection and daily newspaper for free. overall i find this hotel overpriced.
Also I like to mention that Nairobi is a dangerous city. Although Hotel reception mentioned to us to be careful and not to walk in the streets when dark, but they didnt mention that we have to keep taxi rear windows ALWAYS CLOSED while in the car. For this reason my wifes handbag got snatched while the taxi was stopping in traffic and we were unable to do nothing except reporting it to hotel security.
My advise to everyone visiting Nairobi is to be carefull even while sitting in a taxi. Keep the doors and windows locked.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

I stayed at this hotel because I had enough Hilton points for a free stay. The service was first-rate, even better than most of the Hiltons I have stayed at in the US. The rooms were cleaned twice daily, and I had some complimentary resh fruit, tea and crackers available every day. My room was spacious, with 2 TVs and two bathrooms, with beautiful African-style mahogany furniture. The front desk staff were always courteous, and even though I called them many times for different reasons. They have a decent-sized gym, with a knowledgeable fitness trainer always available. Security was first-rate, and it is located in the middle of town with easy access to shopping and cheap but good food. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. i would definitely stay there again, even if I had to pay full price for it.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Stayed here with a U.S. Navy P-3 flight-crew after many weeks on the road. The hotel was wonderful, beds were outstanding. Check-in was a bit slow, but it gave us ample time to check-out the beautiful Luftstanza flight attendants that were checking in next to us!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Stayed here for a couple of nights after 4wks on an overland truck camping so it probably did feel alot nicer than it actually was! lol. It was clean and the room were a good size and it was amazing to have a toilet that flushed! Service was good and we left a bag with them for 4wks as we stayed before and after the overland trip. It was in a very central location and there was a great pizza place just over the road. The pool was lovely and the pool bar was a nice place to sit and have a drink! on the whole a good stay, im going back there in dec 09 so hopefully it hasnt changed!

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

often it is hard to get a reservation at the fairview or country lodge hotels, and impossible to get through on the phone to sarova stanley (their online reservation will not work without credit card details). so hilton remains a good but pricy option, with VAT added on top of the room rate advertised. it doesnt feel like a five star hotel, but the staff is very nice and attentive. the hotel is very central and the meeting facilities are good. rooms are rather small, and the bathroom ceiling feels quite low. internet (cable in the room) is fast but expensive. it is possible to arrange for airport transfer charged to your room ($20 or 1400KSH). health club has sauna and steam room, but the gym is small and most equipment is old. the travellers restaurant is expensive and not that exciting, though the buffet is substantive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.