We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #42 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Dar es Salaam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

I stayed at this hotel on the 15th-17th of July and I have to say I was very impressed with my stay. I had been reading all the comments of the 'worried-well' who had stayed there so I was preparing to be disappointed but that was not the case. I found the staff to be very helpful, i had a seamless check in and check out. The room, by no means opulent, was nicely appointed and had all that was required, very clean bathroom and a comfortable bed. I would recommend this hotel for anybody on a business trip,,,

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    181
    186
    98
    50
See reviews for
51
91
77
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights in July as part of a conference. The hotel is centrally located, clean with simply furnished bedrooms (I stayed in 406 a standard room).

The pool area is good with a deck and good sized pool. There is a coffee bar, pub, and restaurant serving an a la carte and buffet menu. The buffet is fine and changed regularly.

The staff are helpful and I can’t criticise the hotel, except it is standard and just lacks a little sparkle of something.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

There is nothing wrong about the hotel, but it is simply overpriced. During my stay I learnt that locals already avoid booking the Hilton as it is absolutely no value for money. It is also not well located as it is right in the center of Nairobi. The area it is in is not rated safe at night (typcial comment by locals). Also there are no good restaurants close by and locals prefer nit go to the center during night.
If you are on a business trip and you do not have any appointments in the city center take something outside town.
The rooms are fully equipped, but you can see that everything is a bit outworn. Apart from that you can not complain.
The restaurant "The Travellers" offers daily changing buffet, but it is not worth a try. The breakfast offers wide range of all and is of Hilton quality. The bar is dark cave and really outdated.
The service of the Hotel is of good international standard and you have a taxi service in-house"Kentaco" that is an absolutely necessity to get around in Nairobi.
In your room you have internet access for 1.000 KSH (one hour) or 2.000 KSH (per day), that is good to African standards.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Nairobi is a beautiful place and the hotel is located in the city centre. Very close to the hotels there are shops etc and few eating joints.
On Saturday, just few yards from the hotel, the locals put up a handicrafts market which sells beautiful masks and paintings.
The food is good at the hotel and the swimming pool is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

The Fairview and the Country Lodge were booked solid, so I needed to find a hotel in Nairobi for a 3 night business trip. So the Hilton it would have to be, since the other "acceptable" standard hotels were either too expensive for my company's hotel budget restrictions, or also booked out. The Hilton was supposed to be $185 per night (without breakfast) but when you added taxes it ballooned to $237 per night. Then you add the $25 per 24 hours internet connection, and you begin to wonder how the hell the Fairview can offer you a great room for $100 per night, including breakfast, all the Internet you can eat, AND all taxes! I just don't get it! No wonder its booked out so often.

......But this review is supposed to be about the Hilton.

The rooms are ok, comfortable enough, but nothing special. The whole place could do with a renovation, especially the hallways.

The location is great - its very central, and central Nairobi is very easy and safe to navigate on foot. Here is a definite advantage over the Fairview.

Didn't eat the breakfast since it wasn't included so I went each morning to one of the cafes up the street. I had lunch in the restaurant - Club Sandwich once, Burger another time. Also ordered Pizza from room service. The food is pretty decent - actually better than the Fairview.

Over all, Its not a bad hotel. Its just not very good value when you compare it to - you guessed it! - The Fairview.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

A reasonable hotel - good service and helpful staff.

Overall the hotel was fine, but it was a little past its best. Probably would have been nicer 10 years ago! But apart from that a reasonable hotel.

Breakfast is very expensive, so don't just have toast and coffee - get your money's worth!

No Wi Fi in the rooms, but does have internet access. Food is typically Hiltonesque - and about the same prices as back home.

Didn't have a bad experience, but if you can afford a nicer place I would stay there!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I have been reading some of the reviews where people are saying about how much fun they had at the Hilton and all I can do is wonder what kind of hotels they have stayed in before.

The Hilton is nowhere close to a 2 star hotel, and as someone else said before....most of the stars are on the bathroom tiles.
The rooms are so damp and ugly, the bathrooms are dirty and discolored.
Same with the towels in the rooms.

They don't have permanent changing rooms in the Gym. They have very ugly gym rooms which are alternated by the gents and ladies (if the men use the small one in the morning, they use the large one in the evening vice versa.)

I mean, why cant they build a descent changing room? The towels smell of pee (they don't use fabric freshener and softener) and they have cheap shower and bathing gel.

the internet is way overpriced.... it would be better walking right outside the hotel into a cybercafe and pay 30times less than the hotel charges.

I would say one thing......Just avoid the disappointment and go to the Sarova Stanley or Serena.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.