We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Nairobi is a beautiful place and the hotel is located in the city centre. Very close to the hotels there are shops etc and few eating joints.
On Saturday, just few yards from the hotel, the locals put up a handicrafts market which sells beautiful masks and paintings.
The food is good at the hotel and the swimming pool is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    185
    190
    98
    51
See reviews for
53
93
78
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

The Fairview and the Country Lodge were booked solid, so I needed to find a hotel in Nairobi for a 3 night business trip. So the Hilton it would have to be, since the other "acceptable" standard hotels were either too expensive for my company's hotel budget restrictions, or also booked out. The Hilton was supposed to be $185 per night (without breakfast) but when you added taxes it ballooned to $237 per night. Then you add the $25 per 24 hours internet connection, and you begin to wonder how the hell the Fairview can offer you a great room for $100 per night, including breakfast, all the Internet you can eat, AND all taxes! I just don't get it! No wonder its booked out so often.

......But this review is supposed to be about the Hilton.

The rooms are ok, comfortable enough, but nothing special. The whole place could do with a renovation, especially the hallways.

The location is great - its very central, and central Nairobi is very easy and safe to navigate on foot. Here is a definite advantage over the Fairview.

Didn't eat the breakfast since it wasn't included so I went each morning to one of the cafes up the street. I had lunch in the restaurant - Club Sandwich once, Burger another time. Also ordered Pizza from room service. The food is pretty decent - actually better than the Fairview.

Over all, Its not a bad hotel. Its just not very good value when you compare it to - you guessed it! - The Fairview.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

A reasonable hotel - good service and helpful staff.

Overall the hotel was fine, but it was a little past its best. Probably would have been nicer 10 years ago! But apart from that a reasonable hotel.

Breakfast is very expensive, so don't just have toast and coffee - get your money's worth!

No Wi Fi in the rooms, but does have internet access. Food is typically Hiltonesque - and about the same prices as back home.

Didn't have a bad experience, but if you can afford a nicer place I would stay there!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I have been reading some of the reviews where people are saying about how much fun they had at the Hilton and all I can do is wonder what kind of hotels they have stayed in before.

The Hilton is nowhere close to a 2 star hotel, and as someone else said before....most of the stars are on the bathroom tiles.
The rooms are so damp and ugly, the bathrooms are dirty and discolored.
Same with the towels in the rooms.

They don't have permanent changing rooms in the Gym. They have very ugly gym rooms which are alternated by the gents and ladies (if the men use the small one in the morning, they use the large one in the evening vice versa.)

I mean, why cant they build a descent changing room? The towels smell of pee (they don't use fabric freshener and softener) and they have cheap shower and bathing gel.

the internet is way overpriced.... it would be better walking right outside the hotel into a cybercafe and pay 30times less than the hotel charges.

I would say one thing......Just avoid the disappointment and go to the Sarova Stanley or Serena.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

I was travelling to Nairobi quite a large conference there. The hotel was conviniently located and the rooms were allright.
Being a hotelier myself I was plesantly surprised with the smooth check in. However, after the first day, things did not go quite well.
Though no fault of the hotel, the company had not yet paid the hotel for the accommodation, I recieved a letter from the Duty Manager asking for the money, after which I decided that I's rather check out of the hotel and stay elsewhere. Upon checkout, I was greeted by a very pleasant receptionist (sadly i do not remember her name) who informed me of the same instructions that she had been given. I asked for the Manager on shift, who did come and quite flatly and bluntly said he cannot do anything to help me, which I was quite surprised as I would expect a Duty Manager, especially in a Hilton to assist the guest, I mean, being a hotelier and in Front Office itself, thats what we believe in.
Carrying on, when I gave the receptionist my business card, she went out of her way and ensured that I get in touch with the respective authority whose number I had.
I did ask for the same manager 4 times, however, he refused to meet and sent messages saying that there is nothing he can do to help (surprising..!!!)
After waiting for about 2 hours, the recpeptionist did offer to take it on her responsibility and in the event of non payment, she would get in touch with me, which I thought was a very very good gesture and I simply forgot about the time I had spent there waiting for the Manager. Fortunately, the company rep's came within the next 5 minutes and paid up.
Had it not been for the Receptionist, I dont think that I would have even bothered to write this review...
Sadly I do not remember her name, but none the less, your gesture was appreciated. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

With a name like Hilton Group, sadly Nairobi Hilton is debranded for the past two years statndars are falling below their star rating. The General manager is simply rude and inconsiderate with a racisit atttitude. The main breakfats and even lunch in the main resturant has ppor presentation and horrible in taste. There is no dress code for diners/gusts/ The front reception is very dull and lack experience. Certainly not value ofr money. There are several bettwer 4-5 star hotels near to enjoy and stay while in Nairobi.
I would not recommond this hotel for any one going for the first time - regret.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Bathroom was old and a little cramped. looked dirty with brown/yellow stains around the sink area. Tiles on wall around bathtub was very clean with no sign of mould. Toilet seat wouldnt stay up. Room was ok and clean.
Had breakfast in the travellers restaurant and the chair i sat on must have still had wet paint on the armrest and i got black paint on my white sleeves. Waiter saw me noticing my sleeves and just stood there and did nothing and even watched me get myself another chair. Eventually he managed to say "sorry" and then walked away with his pitcher of orange juice... so cant say the service was that great.
We stayed there 2 nights but a week apart. Checking out the first time they charged me around an extra 80 shillings even though room was prepaid 3 months in advance. they said it was because the exchange rate i was charged 3 months ago was different to the exhange rate at check out time and i was paying for the difference. I let it go since it was only 80 shillings. However, for the second night stay a week later, the exchange rate did not go in their favour by over 100 shillings, instead of refunding it they put that as miscellaneous charges. So either way the exchange rate always works in their favour. They didnt hilight this of course. they put the bill in the envelope without showing it to me at the desk. I saw it on the way to the car but couldnt be bothered going back since we had to get to the airport. None of the other lodges we stayed at for the 2 weeks in Kenya tried to charge extra due to exchange rate differences and certainly didnt expect hilton to be so petty.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.