We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, great staff but overall decor tired ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #47 of 133 Hotels in Nairobi
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Central location, great staff but overall decor tired ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a trusted name in Nairobi then this place is ok. The location is ideal and the staff go out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

The rooms however are a bit tired and dated as is the main lobby, restaurant etc. We didn't get a chance to visit the pool terrace which looked good from the photo.

So, not glamorous but ok. Im sure there must be better for the same price.

Stayed September 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    276
    235
    123
    63
See reviews for
68
118
100
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qatar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Nairobi Hilton is one of those classic late sixties, early seventies concrete monoliths. It has definitely seen better days but the rooftop pool is still a place to have meetings or a casual dip. I really like it, it is oasis-like because literally only feet away is the hustle and bustle of one of the most dynamic city social machines to be found anywhere on the planet. All the upper rooms are wedge shaped so no matter what the management try it always falls short. The staff are the best in the city. It is secure. Breakfast is excellent and the sports bar though expensive, the bar staff are quick for a chat and a joke. One could be in England or Ireland.

Room Tip: Get up as high as you can. I love sitting by the window watching the madness below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've now stayed at the Hilton Nairobi more than 6 times in two years. It's true that the hotel is quite old and the rooms are very very dated (and not always the cleanest). However, their prices are typically better than other similar hotels and you get a predictable service with Hilton, particularly if you are a member of their loyalty program. It is not uncommon for them to try to "upsell" you on arrival and I've fallen for it once, but wouldn't recommend again. They better rooms are not any nicer and the breakfast is truly awful for the price -- you are better off waiting to eat at Dorman's at Wilson airport if you are en route to safari. I've stayed at many other Nairobi properties as well -- Kempenski, Fairmont, Tribe -- and they are far and away nicer and more appealing, but they are also pricier. For a bed before or after safari, Hilton is fine. The downtown location is convenient and I highly recommend the souvenir shop behind the hotel on the corner.

Their restaurant food (as mentioned with the breakfast) is sub-par for the price, so we have typically ordered pizza from room service (a pretty good deal) when we've stayed at Hilton.

Generally the service is fine and predictable at Hilton with the doormen in particular being very helpful and friendly. Front desk is spotty and can be very slow. On my most recent visit, I checked out for two rooms that had booked in the same fashion using a pre-paid rate for both rooms. When I queried why one room was more expensive (about USD 40) than the other -- I thought they made a mistake on taxes based on my printed confirmation -- they took about 30 minutes to review the problem and then said the mistake was that they had under-charged me for the other room. They then proceeded to charge me the other USD 40. After an explanation of how they calculated the taxes, I understood the rates. But they had kept me (and our driver) waiting for a while and I would have expected them to waive the USD40 as their mistake. Just bad customer service for a frequent customer at the end of the stay.

Room Tip: Upgrades aren't worth it unless you need a lot more room -- bathrooms and amenities are all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Nairobi Hilton for one night at the end of our safari. The hotel is located in central Nairobi and has an airport shuttle that costs about $20 but be ware that traffic can be very bad at times so make sure you allow enough time to get to the airport. The front desk told us that it would take 25 minutes but it took us an hour due to the traffic. The hotel rooms are a bit dated but well appointed. The rooftop pool and terrace is very nice with panoramic views of the city. The pool is heated so you can used it at night. The front desk staff were pleasant and the hotel security personnel were very friendly. There is also a great coffee shop in the lobby if you want to grab a coffee and snack.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest at the Hilton Nairobi, and thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every moment of your stay and we appreciate your compliments about our front desk and security team members.

We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

MARTIN VOSKAMP I GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hilton Hotel front office staff should undergo thorough customer relations training; Room rate policy should be revised to be more user friendly; It is an extortion to say that an extra person in the room pays USD 50 for bed and additional USD 40 for breakfast, a total of USD 90 which is more than enough for standard room charges at with much better services than Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
We are very sorry you were unhappy with our room rate policy and customer relations at the front desk. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments. Thank you for your honest feedback as it will be used to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

With kind regards,

MARTIN VOSKAMP I GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethiopia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Debitcard which i used to pay at the hotel showed a cash withdrawal not far from the hotel which i did not make. The only other people who had access to my card was at check in. I did however use ATMs while in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at this hotel. We arrived at Nairobi airport at night and we were flying to the Maasai Mara early in the morning, so we needed a hotel for one night.
As most hotels of this chain, you get what you need.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
There is some weird security control with metal detector and so on, but it doesn't look like a very serious one. Despite of that we were told to keep an eye on our luggage at all times while in the lobby. It seems that your belongings are not that safe after all.
The hotel is quite dated and we couldn't sleep much, there is a club close by and the music made the room vibrate all night.

Room Tip: Top floors might be less noisi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for coming back to us with your review about your stay at Hilton Nairobi. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

I regret to see that we did not fully meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. Our Executive Team has been reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our overall guest's experience and service delivery.

We are glad that you were satisfied with our team members hospitality, and I do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Nairobi.

At your service,


MARTIN VOSKAMP I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#30 of 133 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#18 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 133 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#6 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
LAICO Regency Hotel
LAICO Regency Hotel
#63 of 133 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#27 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.