We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Low Standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
1 review
“Very Low Standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First off, I think this is a Hilton Let-down.

I stayed here early April and I was really surprised with how poor the room quality were! What a let down.

The linen are old and brown, some even torn. Apparently they there suppose to be white. I felt so uncomfortable using the.

The bathroom is not properly cleaned.

Room Tip: Please don't compare Hilton quality with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    243
    214
    114
    60
See reviews for
65
111
92
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

in short: don't stay at hlton nairobi never! this was probably the worst hilton in the world. The furnitures, bathroom equipments etc were all old and very bad quality. My room was dirty and was having too much humidity.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our plane was cancelled so were put up in the Hilton. The reception staff were very friendly and checked us in quickly. I was not too impressed when I walked into the reception area cos I expected glamour. It was very basic. The dinning room was just off the reception area also nothing to write home about.. The food was good but not WOW! good. The rooms were nice but I found the bathroom a disappointment there were stains on the wall where the shower is and the basin was stained. I was disappointed because I expected higher standards. I think if I had paid I would have been very annoyed its a good job the airline paid. to stay there again I would pay Premiere Inn prices.

Overall its a nice hotel

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are very basic like 3 star hotel, toilet n shower from 1970 era, poor hot water supply, toilet flush

Lobby and break fast is upto standard but not the rooms.
Never again. Not Hilton standard

Rooms are very basic like 3 star hotel, toilet n shower from 1970 era, poor hot water supply, toilet flush

Lobby and break fast is upto standard but not the rooms.
Never again. Not Hilton standard

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms.
Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. I wish to inform you, that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, which will see a complete make-over of the Hotel, in time to come.

As we constantly work on improving our standards and service delivery to our guests, we hope to get another opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi in the not too distant future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MARTIN VOSKAMP I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located at the very heart of the city, the Hilton Nairobi is a good option if you want to have the feel of urban Nairobi. The building is quite iconic although a bit old - and it would definitely deserve a restoration inside and out! Rooms are big enough and clean and the bed is very comfortable. Service is great - as Kenyans seem to be very helpful and polite - and compensates for the overall "worn out" atmosphere. Oh, breakfast is highly recommended - there is plenty of delicious food to choose from!

As with some hotels, they still charge you for Internet in the room - under the excuse that is a third party service... Public wifi in public areas was good, though.

Room Tip: The higher the better! If possible, get a room overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi. We are happy that you were very satisfied with your experience and enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your special mentions of our team members hospitality, customer care and facilities.

As of the physical state of the facility, I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come.

We take great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi soon.

Best regards,

Yours sincerely


MARTIN VOSKAMP I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed five nights on a business trip and wished in hindsight that I had stayed somewhere else. The basic ingredients were there in terms of hotel facilities (the pool was a wonderful 28C) and room amenities and I could not fault the front-line staff for friendliness, courtesy and helpfulness. My main areas of dissatisfaction were the high charges for in-room wi-fi access, plus the poor quality of the cooked food. The overall experience did not match my expectation of the Hilton brand, or the price paid.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi and I am very glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities.
Regretfully we note, that our in room internet charges and food quality did not meet your expectation and I am indeed very the inconvenience experienced. Your comments have been shared with our executive team for review.

It was truly a pleasure to serve you, and as we constantly work on improving our standards and service delivery to our guests and certainly hope to get another opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MARTIN VOSKAMP I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After "upgrading" to executive level (at the insistence of the receptionist) I got given a room of lower quality then the one I reserved and was charged more for it. Access to the executive lounge was ok for breakfast but they offer nothing during the day, and very limited snacks after 6 PM

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure for us hosting you at the Hilton Nairobi. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We regret to see that the room you were upgraded to did not meet your expectation. Please accept my sincere apologies for this. We are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation which will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance.
We further note that you were happy with our executive lounge breakfast and I wish to confirm that we do serve a variety of snacks throughout the day. I have shared your comment with our executive chef, who already has corrective measure in place to ensure replenishing is done frequently.
Our esteemed guest, we place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi very soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MARTIN VOSKAMP I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.