We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience - nice veneer, but underneath it's sad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Horrible experience - nice veneer, but underneath it's sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When you arrive at the Hilton the first impressions are positive. The lobby is nice, and the front desk staff are very well trained and pleasant. However, once out of the elevator on my floor, the experience went down hill fast. Very outdated rooms, with fixtures that did not work as designed. The air conditioner thermostat was broken so my attempt to use the noise of the fan to mask the noise of the dance club's blasting music with it's thumping bass was thwarted.

I only had one night to stay as I was using this as a place to stay between flights on the continent, so imagine my disappointment at a lousy night's sleep.

Stay away if you are used to the Hilton standard. Come if you like a raucous surround, with all the noise that comes with that.

Room Tip: Choose a high room and near the elevators. Their noise will be better than the noise of the dance c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    241
    210
    110
    59
See reviews for
64
111
91
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I do believe in giving credit were it is due and with this case I should say that the Hotel staff, rooms, and the meals were rather wonderful. Though it is right in the middle of the Busy Nairobi City, once you are in the room there is hardly any sound at all.

The only two things that were not to my liking are the Sealed in windows and the paper thin walls. You can easily hear conversations in other rooms if they are next to you and when I wanted to sit by the window I realized there was no breeze due to the way the windows are sealed in.

But another choice was to go and sit by the poolside and enjoy both the air and the heat :)

Room Tip: Just book your room according to your taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel before exploring Kenya. Central location close to amenities. Service was courteous and efficient. Room was functional but comfortable. We only ate the buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant but the food was well cooked and there was plenty of choice. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience, and thank you for the fine compliments you make about the hospitality of our team, facilities and nice food.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as It is comments such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MARTIN VOSKAMP I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel in the center of Nairobi, very good view of the whole city. But avoid it if you gonna have work far from the center by more than 4 KM because there's incredible traffic jams during the whole day.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about your stay with us here at the Hilton Nairobi.

We are very glad that you were satisfied with your overall experience and great customer service. We are glad that you liked the location as you enjoyed the good view of the city.

With regards of traffic, as we cannot entirely avoid traffic within the city, we always advice our guest to plan their schedules early enough in order to meet their deadline.

Our esteemed guest, believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MARTIN VOSKAMP I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kericho, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hilton Nairobi is in a great location for access to Nairobi CBD - However, restaurant & bar prices are high. If you do stay in this hotel, walk outside and find one of the many restaurants & bars around that offer much better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi. We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay and so much like the location of our facility as it provides easy access to the central business district.

We further note your comment with regards of our Restaurant prices and wish to explain that our restaurant prices are at par with all other five star hotels within the city, only at independent, small local properties are they indeed a lot less, but at comparable, safe international restaurants one pays a similar amount as you were charged at our hotel.

We however appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely


MARTIN VOSKAMP I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I occupied for 6 days and had a comfortable and happy stay there. The restaurant decor very authentic and gave a good old rugged feeling. Had hearty b-fast and for lunch there was good choice including vegetarian. Staff including security served with warmth. Only hiccup was i was using a meeting room and it lacked proper AC and needs bit of cleaning

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest at the Hilton Nairobi. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us and we sincerely appreciate your compliments about our team members service.

We however note your comment with regard of the air conditioning and cleanliness in our function rooms. I have shared your comment with the chief engineer and executive housekeeper to ensure corrective measures are put in place.

Thank you for your honest feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely


MARTIN VOSKAMP I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location in the city center , but also a haven for street shysters trying to suck you in for money and over priced services (be ready to deal and be ready to walk away). The hotel is over priced for what it offers,

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin v, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for coming back to us with your review about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi. I regret to see that we have not been able to meet your expectation, for which I sincerely apologize. We do appreciate your feedback and this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

As we constantly work on improving our standards and service delivery to our guests, we hope to get another opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MARTIN VOSKAMP I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.