We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #42 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Old hotel not worth four stars. The rooms are old and not renovated from the 60s. Totally worn out and small. Not possible to open a window for fresh air. The food, especially the club sandwich is not fresh and is dry and this for 1600ksh. A local beer cost 490ksh. Way too expensive. The pool area is boring and empty. No music and tv without sound. Hilton Nairobi never again... there are much better hotels in town.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    228
    207
    110
    57
See reviews for
60
110
88
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Jungle, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

To all,

Here is a good example of what a good hotel references must be. before going at the Hilton in Nairobi was relented, but I assure that the negative parts of the remarks are some how false, the hotel may have over 35yrs of age, but it as the grandiose architectural that most new hotels lack, the staircase in the entrance that brings us to the mezzanine level is amazing, restaurant is also quite nice, but above all, what I retain is the customer/client service and I am pretty demanding in certain things, internet, cleanness of rooms, quality of food, and tried to look for flaws but was not able too find any. The front desk, entrance, waiters, cleaning personnel are just amazing, always with smile, even if you would have concerns.

Internet excellent, food quality is to very high standards in taste and quantity. I would like to personal thank Mrs.Pauline Suchi that without her attention to our needs and making our stay remarkable, and also make sure we and surely all of the hotel clients are taking care in a professional, but also personal way.

The Hilton is in the center of town, so it is busy area in the daytime, but also where you actually see how life is for most Kenyans. Hilton always had and has high standards in this industry and I can say this one in Nairobi is deemed of their reputations.

Thank you for wonderful stay, only recommendation I have is to continue the high standards, the care you have for your customers, as it makes us feel we are home in Kenya.

Regards to all

Room Tip: Get rooms in higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well i dont have much to say since my stay and plans went well and the team made me feel at home again ,i will always have the memory ,thanks to john,Ruth,Susan ,Philip security and housekeeping team .i will surly be there again . i really enjoy my stay
SALAAM
KEEP THE GOOD WORK UP THERE

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure for us to serve you at the Hilton Nairobi. We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed every moment during your recent stay and that we succeeded to deliver a feeling of it being a home away from home. We sincerely appreciate your compliments about our team members hospitality and customer service as our aim is to not only meet but exceed our guests expectations. Your comments have been shared with the management and team.

Our esteemed guest, we take great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays, and it is comments such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Thank you for considering us as your accommodation of choice.

Kind regards,

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The important need as a business person in Nairobi is the importance of transport. Apart from the normal hotel service which the Hilton does well. The current system of transport provides comfort in that you are getting a professional service which can be charged to your account and the rates are very reasonalble

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi. We are glad that you were very satisfied with your overall experience and appreciate your gratitude to our professional services.

Our esteemed guest, we are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

At your service,

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When traveling oversees, we often spend the 1st night in country at a Hilton to rest up for the adventure. Like McDonalds, it's predictably average and safe. Nairobi can be dangerous and this property has extra security. Typically I use Hilton Honors points.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi. We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience. We are happy to read that the enhanced security made you feel safe and thank you for your feedback.

At Hilton Nairobi, we take great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maseru, Lesotho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hilton Hotel is a good place to be. It shines with staff who treat guests with unfailing hospitality. The hotel has best fitness club which is accessible to hotel guests at no additional cost. I have also enjoyed fresh fruits and veges, more especially mango juice

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi. We are glad that you were very satisfied with your overall experience and sincerely appreciate the compliments you make about our team members great hospitality; Rest assured your comment has been shared with the team.

Our esteemed guest, we are happy to see you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely time with my wife at the Hilton and the staff area wonderful. Irene at the reception was exceptional and deserves recognition. Very nice view of the city below but the staff are a bit noisy on the corridors. Hope to come back again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. I am pleased to hear you found the overall service and helpfulness of our team members to your liking. Thank you for the nice compliments you make about our team members hospitality, especially for mention our front office team member, Irene, for her great customer service. Your comment has been shared with her and the team.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home and I am personally happy to see that you had an enjoyable time with us.

As of the noise in the corridor, rest assured this has been addressed with our service team accordingly.

Our esteemed guest, we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.