We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From $123
Ranked #38 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
Niagara Falls, ON
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed with our 13 yr old son for one night before heading out on Safari and one night on return from Safari. The first room we were in was ok - it was in the tower and was pretty clean, served its purpose. We had 2 single beds and a pull out couch for our son - pull out couch looked ancient/dangerous/not clean so he had one single and my husband and I shared the other. The Hotel's pub had good but expensive food. Our room on the way back was on the pool level. It was dirty and had GIANT flies - only in the bathroom - not sure where they were coming from. We kept the bathroom door shut and that mostly kept them out of the sleeping area. They did provide a can of Raid in the bathroom so we fogged it well and closed the door - they obviously knew of the problem if they're providing bug spray!! Would never stay there again, given the choice, although staff was really nice and it was in the main square so you could walk wherever you wanted to go.

  • Liked — central location, staff was good overall
  • Disliked — old/not clean/giant flies...
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    178
    178
    95
    50
See reviews for
48
90
75
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

I took advantage of points and booked a room for one night, before heading to the airport. The hotel is located in the safest area of the city, and you can enjoy the Masai Market across the street on Saturday. The rooms could use a good upgrading, but I had no complaints in this area. Mine was on the pool level, and had everything I needed after a few weeks in Africa - a hot shower, comfortable bed and flushing toilet! There is a decent pub and restaurant off the lobby, and a nice little cafe to grab coffee and pastry at your leisure. Security is excellent in the hotel - you cannot get in without passing through. The pool area is very nice, as is the restaurant.

My only complaint was the charge for internet in the business center. 1000ksh for one hour of service seemed excessive to me, particularly for HH Members. Though I do have to say that my service never got cut off here, as it did in every internet cafe I encountered throughout Kenya.

Next time I'm in Nairobi, I'll book the Hilton.

  • Liked — The location and Hilton standard
  • Disliked — High charge for internet usage
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Ok, this was my first stay in a Hilton hotel and my last if this one was anything to go by.

The hotel was probably renovated last in the 60's... no seriously.

The bar is full of old people and hookers.

The room itself was shocking for a 5 star hotel. I have stayed in low budget B&B's in England that look better.

The food was generally decent, but I had my worst buffet experience there ever. How do you make every single meal horrible? That my friend is a art!

Staff was generally very friendly so can't find fault there.

...and by the way the bar is extremely overpriced so rather buy some stuff at the 24hour Nakumatt close by.

  • Liked — Centrally located
  • Disliked — Rediculously high internet charges
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I stayed at Nairobi Hilton just for one night.
The lobby and the restaurants were looking good. Their service was not bad. The breakfast was good, too.
The building was old and dreary as well as the room. The room was not very clean... some cigarettes were left on the ashtray when we entered in our room.
But It's OK as I did not expect a gorgeous hotel in Nairobi.

However, I recommend to have a room somewhere in the tower if you have to stay here. My room was second or thrid floor just next to the business room and there was a busy bus terminal just outside of our room. It was too noisy throughout the night. The drivers kept blowing horns to get passengers even 3 a.m. It got noisier after 5 a.m. with the horns and people's voices. I couldn't sleep at all even though I had to take a six- hour drive next day.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

We spent two nights here while enroot to Seychelles. This is simply an ordinary hotel. Although, the hotel is a little overpriced, it is fine but nothing to write home about. Overall, the rooms are clean but dated, the water is hot, the water pressure is adequate, the toilets flush, and there were no bugs. The workout room is better than average.

There really is nothing to do here. Despite a small market within walking distance to the hotel, this is the place for a business traveler or someone just passing through. The executive lounge is small and internet is not free, nor is it cheap. For one hour, in the lounge, it runs approximately $16 USD. Of course, that will fluctuate with the value of the dollar. Or, it is $32 USD/24 hours in your room.

Traffic from the airport is horrendous regardless of the time of day. Also, the roads are prehistoric. So, after a late evening arrival from AMS, it took over an hour to get to the hotel. The road infrastructure is just not built for more than a few cars. As for transfers from the airport, we paid for a Airport Authorized Taxi located within baggage claim. We paid $25 USD.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

I was only in Nairobi for a few days and it was the cheapest I could get on short notice.

I'm not a fan of large chains like Hilton because everything costs money. In smaller hotels you'll get free internet or free breakfast, with chains you pay for everything and especially food is very overpriced. Rooms were okay, nice view, but old and tired. There's a gym which is free to guests.

The stay was fine but I'll look for something else when I'm back in Nairobi next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Costs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

Looking a little dated, this hotel will suffice as a place to stay the night. I found the architecture of the hotel a little strange, as you need to wander through a maze of hallways to access the gym, carpark and the arcade. I wouldn’t suggest you attempt to find the Hilton arcade from within the hotel, as it is easier for you to exit the hotel and find it from the street.

Staff are generally quite good. They are helpful when you need to ask them anything. Although sometimes not all requests are followed up properly. But overall, their intentions are good and make an attempt to help in every way.

The rooms are ample. Just what you would expect from a standard room. The bathroom was not modern but it was clean. Beware when you flush the toilet, as it sounds like you’re about to be sucked in with it. Hotel internet is quite expensive, at 1000ksh per hour (about 17USD). This is the cost for wireless internet or using the PCs in the business centre. The wardrobe door was broken, but I could live with it. The noise generated by the pipes behind the walls made for a broken night’s sleep. At least the bed is comfortable.

The facilities in the hotel are adequate. They do have the Resident’s lounge, which is a nice quiet space for anyone wanting to do some work or have casual rendezvous with friends. The Jockey club is a great bar with character, decorated with memorabilia from a bygone era. The Travellers restaurant is where breakfast is served. The décor here runs the old colonial theme. You will find the range served here is quite extensive, with something for everyone. The gym is fully equipped and lockers and slippers are available for guests to use.

The hotel is ok as a recommendation. However, expect to find an outdated hotel with rooms to match. Whilst its character may be non-existent, it is still adequate as a place to stay.

  • Liked — Location is central and Residents Lounge is nice
  • Disliked — Internet rates whether it be wireless or in the business centre
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.