We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Entebbe, Uganda
1 review
“Mr”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Well located hotel and cost effective hotel in Nairobi. Fitness facilities well designed and quietness appreciable. You can access other facilities as member. I spent some times comfortably. I recommend people while passing in Nairobi or other places to use Hilton hotel as first choice.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    206
    200
    99
    53
See reviews for
55
100
82
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You know a place is bad when you need a key-card to get into the toilet in the lobby ...... The check-in staff tried to up-sell a room at an extra $130 a night on top of the already $300 room charge, this came down to $90 when I said Nope .... for an Execuative Room. However on seeing the room I was to be out in I chickened out and agreed the extra $90 a night. It was stil pretty poor but was promised access to the Exec Club on the 15th floor. I was actually put on the 12th floor - not an Execuative floor (the 13th, 14th and 15th floors are the Executive floors) leaving me feeling short - changed again. In most hotels around the world the Exec Club this allows you snacks, some drinks and breakfast included ........ Not here, everything is charged . Finally lost my temper at being asked for an extra $22 a day for the Internet and they relented and gave me a 2 day access code "in consideration".

The whole impression is a hotel in desperate need of a massive refurbishment and a staff who (whilst smiling and being very charming) try and screw you out of every penny.

Had the buffet on the last night and it was pretty mundane - a French Evening serving luke-warm roast beef ......... Not sure where in the world anyone assumes that a typical French Meal consists of roast beef.

The area is very busy and not in the right area of town and there are many, many much better value and much, much better places to stay in this town.

Just appalling value and not what you expect of a Hilton. Paris must be spinning in her Beverly Hills mansion. Avoid!

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for coming back to us with your review about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi.

Referring to your comments, we regret to see that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience.

In regards to the physical outlook of the property, I am pleased to share that we are in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come. We appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

I do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Nairobi in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely time at the Hilton. Very good customer service, warm cozy rooms and a great view of the city of Nairobi. Excellent service even when the city was under a little threat. Left valuables in my room but none was taken. Loved the way staff checked up on me every evening and always had a sweet for me. Will always come back and stay when im in nairobi. Big UPS

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi. We are happy that you were very satisfied with your overall experience and especially for mentioning our team members great hospitality and service. We appreciate to see that you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us, including the view of the city.

We take great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is an old strucure exactly in the heart of the town. This is the main pro, considering the expectations for a "hilton hotel".
The check in was extremely disappointing: i was very tired for a intercontinental trip ant the clerk tried to sell me any possible kind of upgrading for hundreds of dollars, notwistanding that i declared that i was extremely tired and willing to go in the room.
The room was small and the bathroom' roof is at 2,10 metres.
I would say that it is a very nice 3 stars hotel, expensive as a luxury 3 stars.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would like to thank the Hilton staff for their honesty and professionalism. During my stay I carelessly left my wallet on the bed. In it I had $2100 ; R860 and KES 4860, to my surprise not a cent was removed from my wallet. This really made me happy. Most importantly thanks to all the staff members that made us feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi, and we are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience. We sincerely thank you for your gratitude and great compliments about our team members integrity, which I have gladly shared with the team and management.

Our esteemed guest, we are happy to see you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us here at Hilton Nairobi and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good but old infrastructure. The hotel environment and service is good, but the infrastructure is old. The bathtub water temperature regulator was not working, the plumbing work worn out. The AC was also not operating efficiently. But the room was clean, carpet good and service generally ok. Staff were friendly and up to the task. The steak could benefit from some improvment.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest at the Hilton Nairobi. We thank you and appreciate your compliments about our good customer service and cleanliness of the facility. Regretfully we did not meet your expectation in regards to product and I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this. I have shared your comment with our chief engineer to inspect the room and rectify the situation meanwhile.

We appreciate your feedback as this will assist us in improving our standards and service delivery to our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sperry, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed at Hilton all over the world, I must say this was one of my better stays. I was to stay for 3 days, go on a 4 day safari and return for 3 more days at this hotel. When I needed to store my heavy bags for my safari, they did not hesitate to accommodate me. I was very impressed with the customer service. I was always greeted by an employee no matter their position. The food which was served buffet style was perfect for a foreign visitor. It gave the opportunity to try local cuisine, but also standard comfort foods. I was on the 14th Floor for Hilton Honors members and was not disappointed. I was pleased to find 1/2 dozen roses in a collection as well as welcoming fresh fruit. My turn down service was very good, replacing any towels and water that had been used for the day. I was most impressed that you never heard the staff in the hallways, which is a pet peeve of mine at hotels, especially in the morning.
The decor was good though could use a little updating with local art and crafts, would be my suggestion. The high security was a bit frightful at first, but being an US visitor it did give me a sense of safety.
I used points for this visit and I feel the value was there.

Room Tip: Take a high floor that gives exceptional views of Nairobi and the outlying areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest at the Hilton Nairobi. We thank you and appreciate your compliments about our team members hospitality and customer service. We are very happy to read that the security measures we have put in place gave you a sense of safety during your stay and that you enjoyed your stay in our property.

We take great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays, and it is comments such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.